
Concealed Firearm Instructor                                

Updates and Reminders 
 

 

  
 
 
September 19, 2016 
 

1. On October 1, the application fees will change.  The Utah resident concealed firearm permit 
application fee will be $37.00.  The non-resident concealed firearm permit application fee 
will be $47.00.  Please discard all old/outdated applications, using only the current 
application. The minimum training curriculum has been updated to reflect the new 
application fees. 

 
July 6, 2016 
 

1. Nevada now honors the Utah concealed firearm permit. The minimum training curriculum 
has been updated to reflect the change. 
 

2. The concealed firearm permit application has been updated with non-substantive changes 
and posted on the website.  Please download the newest version and start using as soon as 
possible. 

 
May 12, 2016 
 

1. On or about May 15, 2016, BCI will be making changes to the design of the Utah Concealed 
Firearm Permit card. All cards issued after May 15 will include new features. All cards issued 
prior to May 15 will continue to be valid until the expiration date listed on the card.  To 
view an example of the new card please follow this link. 

 
December 10, 2015 
 

1. Maine now honors the Utah concealed firearm permit. The minimum training curriculum has 
been updated to reflect the change. 

 
August 12, 2015 
 

1. Effective August 11, 2015 Minnesota no longer honors the Utah concealed firearm permit.  
 
June 9, 2015 
 

1. The concealed firearm permit application has been updated with non-substantive changes 
and posted on the website.  

 
April 8, 2015 
 

2. The application fees have recently changed. The Utah resident concealed firearm permit 
application fee is $39.00.  The non-resident concealed firearm permit application fee is 

http://bci.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/15/2016/05/CFP-Design-Change.pdf


$49.00.  Please discard all old/outdated applications, using only the current application. 
The minimum training curriculum has been updated to reflect the new application fees. 
 

3. Individuals who attend the Utah concealed firearm instructor course taught by the Bureau of 
Criminal Identification Staff are required by statute to complete a test at the completion of 
the course.  Starting April 2015, attendees will be required to take a closed book thirty five 
question test and score at least an 80% in order to pass the course.  

 
June 26, 2014 
 

1. The minimum training curriculum has been updated.  Pennsylvania now has a formal    
reciprocity agreement with the State of Utah. Please follow this link to Pennsylvania’s 
website to read the specific details regarding the agreement.  Reciprocity Agreement 
 
As a general reminder, it is the responsibility of all Utah concealed firearm permit holders to 
know and understand the applicable firearm laws of the states within which they plan to 
visit or venture. For information regarding firearm laws of other states, please contact the 
respective authority within that state. 
 

2. Starting July 1, 2014 the application fee for in state applicants will drop to $41.00.  The fee 
of $51.00 for out of state applicants will not change. 

 
May 13, 2014 
 

1.  As a reminder, when printing out the initial application for your students, please also print 
out the instruction page that correlates with the application.  

 
2. The Minimum Training Curriculum has been updated. The changes are: an update to the list 

of states Utah has recognition with and also language was added regarding airport travel as 
it relates to firearms and other weapons along with minor grammar changes.  
 

3. As of May 12, 2014 Pennsylvania no longer recognizes the Utah concealed firearm permit.  

 
4. As a reminder when teaching the Utah concealed firearm permit course in conjunction with 

another state permit, make sure that all topics contained within the minimum training 
curriculum are covered.  This includes all applicable Utah laws, the permit disqualifying 
criteria, etc.    

 
 
July 10, 2013 
 
1. The state of Kansas has been added as a state that recognizes Utah’s permit. The Minimum 

Training Curriculum and the DPS website have been updated to reflect the change.  
 

As a reminder, it is the responsibility of all Utah concealed firearm permit holders to know 
and understand the applicable firearm laws of the states within which they reside and or 
plan to visit or venture. For information regarding firearm laws of other states, please 
contact the respective authority within that state. 

 
May 15, 2013 
 

http://www.attorneygeneral.gov/uploadedFiles/Crime/Utah_reciprocity_agreement.pdf


 
1. The Minimum Training Curriculum has been updated to reflect the update Utah state 

statutes. The state statutes affected are: 53-5-702, 53-5-704, 53-5-707, and 53-5-708.  
 
April 1, 2013 
 
1. The application for a Utah Concealed Firearm permit has been updated and can be 

downloaded from the BCI website, look under the 'Forms and Applications' section. 
 

2. Recently BCI has seen a great increase in the number of concealed firearm 
permit applications being submitted.  As recently as a few months ago we were receiving on 
average 1,500 applications a week.  Currently our average is 5,000 applications a week.  BCI 
is taking measures to process this increase in applications by working overtime and hiring 
more employees but there are things you as an instructor can do to help also. 

 
Whenever someone calls into BCI with a question the employees that answer the phones are 
the same employees trying to process the applications and issue the permits.  The more 
phone calls we receive slows down the processing time of the applications.  Please tell your 
students that it is currently taking 3 weeks to process their payment and then another 60 
days before their permit will be issued.  If the applicant can watch their credit card account 
or checking account to see when their payment went through and then add another 60 days 
to that, this will give them an idea of when to expect their permit.  Please ask them to not 
call BCI before this time line has lapsed.  There is nothing we can tell them about their 
application; they just need to wait the time. 

 
Also applicants can use our dpsfirearms@utah.gov email address to ask questions or see 
where their permit is after the above mentioned timeline has lapsed. 

 
August 30, 2012 
 

1. Permit holders can renew in person, by mail and NOW may also renew online. To renew 
online, go to https://secure.utah.gov/concealed-firearms. There is a $0.75 convenience fee 
to renew over the internet. Permit holders will need the capability to upload a passport 
quality photo and a copy of his/her own states concealed firearm permit or concealed 
weapon permit, if applicable. 

 

2. The Minimum Training Curriculum has been updated.  A section on how to renew the Utah 
concealed firearm permit has been added (page 46). 

 
July 30, 2012 
 
1.   Its come to our attention that there’s a possible scam targeting Utah concealed firearm 

permit instructors. Be careful.  If it doesn’t seem right, it probably isn’t. In your 
correspondences with the individual requesting training, you should not have to provide your 
personal financial information, provide a form of payment, etc.  

 
April 2, 2012 
 
1.   The Minimum Training Curriculum has been updated to reflect the application fee changes.  

mailto:dpsfirearms@utah.gov
https://secure.utah.gov/concealed-firearms


 
March 22, 2012 
 
1. The new fees are official.  The Utah State Legislature changed the state portion of our fee 

along with the FBI making their change.  After taking both into account the new fees will be 
as of April 1, $46.00 for in-state applicants and $51.00 for out-of-state applicants.  The 
new application has been uploaded to the BCI website.  You can also find it by clicking this 
link: http://publicsafety.utah.gov/bci/documents/CFPapp0312.pdf 

 
January 31, 2012 
      
1. Effective April 1, 2012 the FBI fingerprint-based background check fee will change. This will 

affect the concealed firearm permit application fee.  The current fee is $60.00 for in-state 
applicants and $65.00 for out-of-state applicants. The new fee will be $46.25 for in-state 
applicants and $51.25 for out-of-state applicants.  A letter will be mailed out shortly to all 
valid instructors explaining in more detail the changes and reasoning.   

 
Please be advised that an additional fee change is being considered before the Utah State 
Legislature.  If any additional changes occur, you will be notified of that change. 

 
2. Reminder: Please make sure your students complete the concealed firearm permit 

application prior to you signing, dating and stamping it.  This will avoid some of the 
confusion some students seem to be having.   

 
November 1, 2011 
 
1.   The state of Wisconsin has announced they will recognize the Utah Concealed Firearm 

Permit.  This recognition starts today, November 1, 2011.  The BCI website has been updated 
to reflect this new information.  Starting today, November 1, any application BCI receives 
from a resident of Wisconsin must have a copy of their Wisconsin CCW or CFP with their 
application.  If the copy of their Wisconsin CCW or CFP is not included with the application, 
the application will be rejected and mailed back to the applicant. 
 

2. The minimum training curriculum has also been updated, adding Wisconsin as a recognition 
state. 

 
September 9, 2011 
 
1. The concealed firearm permit application has been updated and placed on BCI’s website.  

Please discard all old applications and start using the new one. The new applications 
reflect BCI’s new zip code and business hours.  Click the link to go to the new application. 

 
June 8, 2011 
 
1. Effective July 1, 2011 the Zip Code for BCI’s physical address will be changed to 84129.  All 

forms and applications will be updated to reflect the change.  
 
 
 
 
 

http://publicsafety.utah.gov/bci/documents/CFPapp0312.pdf
http://publicsafety.utah.gov/bci/documents/CFPapp0811.pdf


June 6, 2011 
 
1. With the passage of First Substitute HB 257, any applications that BCI receives on or after 

June 1st will have their permit suspended if BCI does not receive sufficient fingerprints for 
the FBI to process.  If the applicant’s fingerprints are rejected, the applicant will receive a 
letter stating they have 30 days to comply with a new set of fingerprints. If the applicant 
does not comply, their permit will be suspended until BCI receives a new set of fingerprints. 

 
May 16, 2011 
 
1. The Minimum Training Curriculum has been updated to reflect the new statutory changes.  
 
May 5, 2011 
 
1. The concealed firearm permit application has been updated and placed on BCI’s website.  

Please discard all old applications and start using the new one. The new applications 
reflect the fee changes and other statutory mandates.  Click the link to go to the new 
application. 

 
2. BCI’s zip code will be changing effective June 1, 2011. The postal service has yet to 

inform BCI of the new zip code. Applications will again be updated at that time.  After 
June 1, 2011, please ensure you‘re providing your students with the most current 
application to avoid problems with the postal service when mailing the applications into 
BCI.   

 
April 1, 2011 
 
1. A newsletter has been created and posted on BCI’s website.  The newsletter explains the 

new laws set to take effect after May 10, 2011 pertaining to concealed firearm permits and 
instructors.  A copy of the newsletter is also being mailed out to instructors.  Click the link 
to read a copy of the newsletter. 

 
February 15, 2011 
 
1.  As of February 14, 2011, First Substitute Senate Bill 36, Concealed Firearm Act Amendments, 

had passed both houses of the Utah Legislature. The bill must still be signed by Governor 
Gary Herbert before it may become effective. If signed by the Governor, the bill will go into 
effect on May 10, 2011.  

 
To find out more about what changes this bill makes to the Concealed Firearms Act, you may 
the read the full text of the bill at: 

 
http://le.utah.gov/~2011/bills/sbillamd/sb0036s01.pdf 

 
February 7, 2011 
 
1. Effective immediately, the prerequisite of the practical certification will only be 

required upon initial application for a concealed firearm permit instructor and will not 
be required to be maintained current thereafter, i.e. (NRA Certification, Utah P.O.S.T.) 
etc.  

 

http://site.utah.gov/dps/bci/documents/CFPapp0511.pdf
http://site.utah.gov/dps/bci/documents/CFPapp0511.pdf
http://site.utah.gov/dps/bci/documents/BCINewsletterApril2011.pdf
http://site.utah.gov/dps/bci/documents/BCINewsletterApril2011.pdf
http://le.utah.gov/~2011/bills/sbillamd/sb0036s01.pdf


January 3, 2011 
 
1. BCI is open Monday through Thursday (7am-6pm), closed Friday, Saturday, and Sunday.  No 

mail will be received on days the Bureau is closed.  Please remind your students if they 
intend to overnight or mail an application certified mail, to mail the application packet 
accordingly.   

 
2. On January 1, 2011 Iowa was added as a state Utah has recognition status with.  The 

minimum training curriculum was also updated to reflect the change.  
 
3. Reminder:  Some states will not honor the Utah concealed firearm permit or any other 

permit, if you’re a resident of that state.  Residents of that particular state must obtain a 
permit issued by that state, in order to legally carry a concealed firearm.  BCI does not track 
these states because weapons and firearms laws vary significantly from state to state and 
can change quickly as a result of government mandates and court decisions.  

 
December 6, 2010 
 
1. The bureau has set up this new section in order to provide detailed, up to date information 

regarding changes to the program and updates in law and /or reminders.  This format will 
better assist instructors and remove the need for sending out a newsletter.  Anytime an 
update or change is made, the change will be posted here.  Please review this section from 
time to time in order to ensure you are teaching the most up to date information and 
providing your students with the most current application, etc. This is especially important 
after each legislative session, since there is a possibility of changes to existing state 
statutes. 

 
2. Reminder:  U.C.A. 53-5-704 (9) A certified concealed firearm permit instructor shall provide 

each of the instructor’s students with the required course of instruction outline approved by 
the bureau.  Instructors are allowed to expound on or create their own addendum to the 
curriculum, but not detract from it.  

 
3. The Minimum Training Curriculum has been updated.  The revision date is November 9, 

2010.  The changes include minor spelling and grammar corrections. 
 
4. BCI will now accept US Passports as a form of verifying United States legal residency or 

citizenship.  This only applies to applicants born outside the United States. 
 
5. As of November 1, 2010, BCI adopted a set of administrative rules.  Administrative rules 

assist with clarifying existing state statute.  A copy of the administrative rules has been 
linked to the Concealed Firearm Law and Rule Reference tab.  Please take time to review 
the new administrative rules. 

 
Two notable portions contained within the administrative rules are the adoption of 
disqualification time frames and the definition of moral turpitude: 

 
R722-300-4(5)(b) If the applicant does not meet the qualifications set forth in Subsection 53-
5-704(2)(a) because the applicant has been convicted of a crime, the bureau may find that 
mitigating circumstances exist if the applicant was not convicted of a registerable sex 
offense, as defined in Subsection 77-27-21.5(1)(n), and the following time periods have 



elapsed from the date the applicant was convicted or released from incarceration, parole, 
or probation, whichever occurred last:  

(i) five years in the case of a class A misdemeanor;  

 (ii) four years in the case of a class B misdemeanor; or  

(iii) three years in the case of any other misdemeanor or infraction.  

 

R722-300-3(k) "offense involving moral turpitude" means a crime under the laws of this 
state, any other state, the United States, or any district, possession, or territory of the 
United States involving conduct which: 

(i) is done knowingly contrary to justice, honesty, or good morals; 

(ii) has an element of falsification or fraud; or 

(iii) contains an element of harm or injury directed to another person or another's property 

6.  BCI taught instructor classes for 2011 have been posted on the website. 

Reminder:  Instructors, who are set to expire, should schedule a BCI renewal course several 
months in advance.  Reason being, the increase of interest has classes filled months in 
advance.  No walk-ins will be accepted. 

 
7. Recently, representatives of the bureau have sat in on various Utah concealed firearm 

permit classes. The bureau would like to offer a few recommendations when teaching 
concealed firearm permit classes:   

 Keep your class size to a manageable size 

 Maintain a positive learning atmosphere 

 Teach your classes in a knowledgeable, professional and ethical manner  
 Avoid undue distractions i.e. allowing students to arrive late, leave early, teaching 

unrelated topics, etc. 
 
8. The notary section has been removed from instructor and concealed firearm permit 

applications.  There is now a section where the applicant is required to sign and date the 
application where the notary section previously was. 

 
9. Reminder:  When teaching Utah concealed firearm permit classes, you must teach the Utah 

class in its entirety.  This policy change occurred at the beginning of 2010.  Before, 
instructors were allowed to teach multi-states permits, and then teach a block on Utah law 
and other Utah pertinent material.  As long as all the topics were covered within the 
minimum training curriculum, the class was accepted.  This changed for several reasons.  
One being numerous applicant/permit holders complained that they left the classes 
confused and/or felt the Utah portion of the class was neglected or very rushed.  The 
process also diminished the Utah permit.  Meaning an individual could take another state’s 
permit, and if the applicant wanted a Utah concealed firearm permit, an additional hour or 
two would be added to the class.  Please make sure when teaching Utah concealed firearm 
permit classes, you teach the Utah class from start to finish without intermixing other 
permits during the process.   

 
10. Please make sure you are providing your students with the most current application.  The 

most current application is available on BCI’s website. There is a revision date at the bottom 
of the application to assist you in determining if you have the most current version.  The 
current revision date is December 2010. 


