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DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
BUREAU OF CRIMINAL IDENTIFICATION

Concealed Firearm Permit
Instructor Course
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&) COURSE OVERVIEW

©®© Course Requirements © CFP Course Review
© Application © General Familiarity
(CFP & Instructors) © Minimum Training
© Certification Curriculum
(CEFP & Instructors) ©®© Background Checks
® Ofticial Seal © Disqualitying Criteria
©®© Problem Areas ® Appeals Process
© Permit Flow Chart ® Utah State Law
© Statistics ® Federal Firearms Regulations

© Reciprocity / Recognition ® FAQs
©®© Law Enforcement Contacts
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(=5}  COURSE REQUIREMENTS

® Instructional Course and Test

® A Utah concealed firearms instructor, in order to
obtain initial certification or renew a certification,
shall attend an instructional course and pass a
certification test

©® The course shall include instruction on
© Current Utah law related to firearms
© Concealed carry statutes and rules
©The use of deadly force by private citizens

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

: 53-5-704. Bureau duties -- Permit to carry concealed firearm -- Certification for concealed firearms instructor -- Requirements for issuance -- Violation -- Denial, suspension,
' or revocation -- Appeal procedure.

- (c)(i) In order to obtain initial certification or renew a certification, an instructor shall attend an instructional course and pass a test under the direction of the bureau.
]

' (ii)(A)  The bureau shall provide or contract to provide the course referred to in Subsection (9)(c)(i) twice every year.

- (B) The course shall include instruction on current Utah law related to firearms, including concealed carry statutes and rules, and the use of deadly force by private

. citizens.



(%)}  INSTRUCTOR APPLICATION

® What must accompany your application

® BCI course certificate

© Proof of having completed a firearms instructor training course
from the National Rifle Association (NRA), the Utah Department
of Public Safety, Division of Peace Officer Standards and
Training (I>O.S.T.) or their equivalent (initial application only)

©® One passport quality photo
©® Photo copy of driver license

© Signed Agreement that you will teach
Utah minimum training curriculum

© Possess a Utah concealed firearm permit

© One year deadline all instructor/permit applications must be submitted to BCI
within one year of instructor/CFP course completion
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® Renewal Period

©Instructor certification is valid for a three-year period
from the issue date of initial and each subsequent
renewal application.

® Fees

©Each applicant for certification shall pay a fee of
$50.00

® The renewal fee for the certificate is $25.00

©Certifications expired by more than 30 days will incur a $7.50
late fee. Applications received after one year of expiration
are invalid and the applicant must complete the full
application process again.



INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION

®In addition to the instructor certificate
issued by BCI, instructors are issued a

“Utah Concealed Firearm Instructor”
identification card

STATE OF UTAH
DEPARTMENT OF
Concealed Firearms Instructor Certification

UTAH 1999999

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Concealed Firearm Instructor

3/1/2006 o100
Date Issued License Number

JOHN Q SAMPLE
NAME: TEST TEST

pop 01/01/1901 sgx: F
apDRESs: 123 FAKE ST

is licensed to conduct busi as a concealed firearms instructor in the State Of Utah,
subject to the law and the rules and regulations set forth by the Commissioner of Public
Safety pertaining to such business and the licensing thereof.

e
b
ciry. FAKECITY  gp UT  zp 11111

ATE OF JATE OF
SSUE: 12/20/2016 ExPIRaTION 12/20/2019

HT: §11 WT:220 EYES: BLU HAIR: BRO

Commissioner of Public Safety:
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®CCertified Instructor

® Instructors ARE NOT
employed by BCI
or the State of Utah
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L0 INSTRUCTOR SEAL

® Instructor’s Official Seal
® All instructors must obtain an official seal
©The seal shall be aftixed to all certificates issued by

the instructor
©The exact design of the seal is determined by BCI

State of U
Utah Certified Concealed Firearms Instructor

License Number: 1000000

My centification expires on: 11/01/2016
Instructor First Last Name

Address

City, State Zip

Example of an instructor’s official seal



f. /o) INS TRUCTOR SEAL

© Stamps can be produced by any stamp maker
but must follow BCI design and include:

® Instructor name, instructor #,
and the BCI Logo

®The words “Utah Certified Concealed Firearms
Instructor” and “State of Utah”

© Certification expiration date
® Instructor’s business or residence address

Stamp company information
is available on your CD
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CONCEALED FIREARM PERMIT
APPLICANT REQUIREMENTS
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© BCI has statutory authority to supervise and administer
rules and laws that pertain to the concealed firearm and

instructor programs.

© BCI does not have the statutory authority to turn away
instructor applications or limit the number of
instructors.

©® Any changes in the law, administrative rules, reciprocal
agreements or changes in training requirements to
include a practical shooting exercise would have to be
accomplished through the legislature and/or the Utah
Attorney General’s Office.
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® Some common reasons people may seek a
Utah Concealed Firearm Permit
© The ability to carry a firearm fully loaded
© The ability to carry a firearm concealed

© Waives the $7.50 background check fee for purchasing a
firearm (Utah residents only)

©®© Recognition of Utah’s permit by other states
© Permit valid for 5 years
© Lower permit cost compared to many other states

© Utah law makes no distinction or defines what type of
firearm a concealed firearm permit holder can possess or
how many
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@ Utilize the bordered space
provided on the application
to stamp with the official seal.
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® The application must be
completed by the
applicant prior to the
instructor signing and
stamping the application.
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© Application requirements: o | el
® 21 years of age or older e s =
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© One passport quality photo e — S
© Photo copy of driver license A

Outside o Hair Gopgy

5. ing

© One (blue) type applicant
fingerprint card

© Instructor stamp in ink

T

eas, ar

228 read ang %
n

© Non-resident applicants who reside Je=

plicags, > DSt o0 3 Hass g
EPloston | s M
SOMract 3

ang, G
Seoutng e A, §

in a state that Utah has reciprocity or -
recognition with must also supply
proof of having obtained a permit
from their state of residency
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© Applications must be received by BCI
within one year of taking the concealed firearm permit course
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©Resident Concealed Firearm Permit
$53.25
©9$25.00 - Permit processing fee
©%$13.25 - FBI fingerprint processing fee

©%$15.00 - State background check fee

®Non Resident Concealed Firearm Permit
$63.25
©%$35.00 - Permit processing fee
©%$13.25 - FBI fingerprint processing fee
©%$15.00 - State background check fee



(=)} APPLICATION RENEWALS

©Renewal requirements:
©® $20.00 in state renewal fee
© $25.00 out of state renewal fee
©® Completed application
©® One passport quality photo

®Permits expired by more than 30 days will incur a
$7.50 late fee.

©Expired permits received that are over a year old
will require the applicant to complete the full
application process again
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(=)} APPLICATION RENEWALS

®Permit holders may renew
in person, by mail, and online.

®©To renew online, go to
https://secure.utah.gov/concealed-firearms

®There is a $0.75 convenience fee to renew over the
internet.

©Permit holders will need the capability to upload a
passport quality photo and a copy of his/her own
states concealed firearm permit or concealed
weapon permit, if applicable.
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©Utah waives permit renewal fees for active
duty service members and their spouses
©This only applies to active duty service

members and their spouses
while stationed in Utah

w

3-5-707. Concealed firearm permit -- Fees -- Concealed Weapons Account.

An applicant for a concealed firearm permit shall pay a fee of $24.75 at the time of filing an application.

A nonresident applicant shall pay an additional $10 for the additional cost of processing a nonresident application.

The bureau shall waive the initial fee for an applicant who is a law enforcement officer under Section 53-13-103.

Concealed firearm permit renewal fees for active duty service members and the spouse of an active duty service member shall be waived.

The renewal fee for the permit is $15.

The replacement fee for the permit is $10.

The late fee for the renewal permit is $7.50.

As used in this section, "late fee" means the fee charged by the bureau for a renewal submitted on a permit that has been expired for more than 30 days but less
n one year.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
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© Common reasons applications are mailed back
on an average 200-400 applications weekly)

©®Incorrect payment amount
© Not signing the credit card line Sman
©®Incorrect zip code associated

with credit card .
© Instructor stamps must be legible e
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and quality
©Fingerprints must be of good

quality and the card must i
have been completed
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© Not providing a copy of the applicant’s driver license
©Not providing a copy of the applicant’s home state
permit (when applicable)
©8.5” X 11" paper (not wallet sized, cut out, etc.)

© Applicants born outside the United States must
supply proper documents

© All necessary copies must be made and attached to
the application prior to submission
© Current address must be on file with BCI
©USPS will not forward BCI mail

©OReturned mail will cause delays and additional costs to
the program



(i3}  APPLICATION PHOTOS

©® Applicants required to submit a recent
color photograph of passport quality

®Passport quality means:

©Approximately 2 in. X 2 in.

©Taken within last 6 months
and showing current
appearance

®Full front view of
subject’s face

®No hats or dark glasses
@Plain (white) background |-
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©Prints must meet FBI requirements (53-5-706)

© Fingers rolled from one edge of the nail to the
other edge and just below the first joint

© Ridge characteristics are clear

© Impressions are uniform in tone

e L P e —

© There is an impression in each block

© If the digit has been amputated
or is disfigured,
write this in the box provided

© There are 4 impressions and a thumb
in the simultaneous impression block &

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

53-5-706. Permit -- Fingerprints transmitted to bureau -- Report from bureau.
(1)(a)  Except as provided in Subsection (2), the fingerprints of each applicant shall be taken on a form prescribed by the bureau.

(o) Upon receipt of the fingerprints and the fee prescribed in Section 53-5-707, the bureau shall conduct a search of its files for criminal history information pertaining to
(c) If the fingerprints are insufficient for the Federal Bureau of Investigation to conduct a search of its files for criminal history information, the application or concealed

|
|
|
l
|
the applicant, and shall request the Federal Bureau of Investigation to conduct a similar search through its files. |
|
|
|
|
|
|

firearm permit may be denied, suspended, or revoked until sufficient fingerprints are submitted by the applicant.



© Ink is unevenly distributed

© Fingers are not fully inked

©® Too much or too little ink

© Fingers slip or twist during rolling
© Ridges are worn smooth

©® One or more fingers printed twice

® One or more impressions missing

© Fingerprints on the back of the card
© Fail to include complete information
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FINGERPRINT CARDS

®©Ensure Completeness
© Applicant name

& Signature
©Biometric data
ORSIVANNIN
©Print taker

Signature and date



{5}  PRINT CARD REQUESTS

® Due to budgetary and resource considerations,
BCI is no longer able to mail blank fingerprint
cards to instructors.

© Cards may still be picked up in person at the BCI
building
©® Instructors may purchase fingerprint cards

through the U.S. Government Bookstore
https://bookstore.gpo.gov/products/sku/027-001-00086-6

® Amazon.com search “FD-258 tingerprint cards”

©® Applicants may provide their own prints taken
by local law enforcement
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© The applicant must be qualified to purchase and possess
a firearm pursuant to state and federal law

© The applicant must supply proot
of United States legal residency

® Naturalization Number

® Born Abroad Birth Certificate
(ex. born on a US military base)

©® Valid U.S. Passport
© INS or Alien Registration Number

© Supply a copy of the actual certificate




®Displays or possesses
any badge

©With the intent to deceive
or induce another to submit

to his pretended official
authority or act

|
76-8-512. Impersonation of officer. |
A person is guilty of a class B misdemeanor who: i
(3) displays or possesses without authority any badge, identification card, other form of identification, any restraint device, or the uniform of any state or local :
governmental entity, or a reasonable facsimile of any of these items, with the intent to deceive another or with the intent to induce another to submit to his pretended official
authority or to rely upon his pretended official act. i
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Website Postings
Class Instruction
Direct Contact



(=)} APPLICATION TO PERMIT

® Applications are received at BCI

®In person, by mail, or online

©In person applicants may get photos and prints at
BCI for a fee of $15 each.

© Applications are processed by
date of receipt

®Permits are printed for approved
applicants

®Permits are sent by mail
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ﬁ;&, L1RECOGNITION OF UTAH PERMITS

© The following states recognize the Utah permit:

® Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware,
Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, lowa, Kansas, Kentucky,
Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri,
Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, North
Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania,
South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia,
Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

© Some states only recognize the Utah permit if the

permit holder is a Utah resident:

© Colorado, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Maine, New
Hampshire, Florida



Standard Permit Provisional Pemit

Home State Permit Home State Permit Home State Permit Home State Permit
Recognition Status  Required to apply for NOT Required to apply Required to apply fora NOT Required to apply
Utah pemit for a Utah pemit Utah pemit for a Utah pemit

Hawaii Meither o ¥
Idaho Both
i Meither
Indiana Both
lowa Standard Only
Kansas Standard Only
Standard Only
Standard Only

Maine Standard Only

Maryland Meither
Massachusetts Meither
Michigan Standard Only
Minnesota Meither
i Both
Both
Both
Mebraska Standard Cnly
Hevada Both
Mew Hampshire Standard Only
Meither
Meither
Meither

Permit holders should always contact
any state they plan to visit to confirm their laws

Utah honors all valid permits
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© Authority given to the State

®Unless specifically authorized by the
Legislature by statute, a local authority or
state entity may not enact or enforce any
ordinance, regulation, or rule pertaining to
firearms.

76-10-500. Uniform law.

(1) The individual right to keep and bear arms being a constitutionally protected right, the Legislature finds the need to provide uniform laws throughout the state.
Except as specifically provided by state law, a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien shall not be:

€)) prohibited from owning, possessing, purchasing, selling, transferring, transporting, or keeping any firearm at his place of residence, property, business, or in any
vehicle lawfully in his possession or lawfully under his control; or

(b) required to have a permit or license to purchase, own, possess, transport, or keep a firearm.

(2) This part is uniformly applicable throughout this state and in all its political subdivisions and municipalities. All authority to regulate firearms shall be reserved to the

state except where the Legislature specifically delegates responsibility to local authorities or state entities. Unless specifically authorized by the Legislature by statute, a local

authority or state entity may not enact or enforce any ordinance, regulation, or rule pertaining to firearms.
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©Statute prohibits the sharing of concealed
firearm permit information

®A person is guilty of a class A misdemeanor if
the person knowingly discloses information
other than for an official law enforcement
purpose.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

i 53-5-708. Permit -- Names private.

(1)

- (a) The bureau shall maintain a record in its office of any permit issued under this part.
]

|
: (b) Notwithstanding the requirements of Subsection 63G-2-301(2)(b), the names, addresses, telephone numbers, dates of birth, and Social Security numbers of persons |
' receiving permits are protected records under Subsection 63G-2-305(11) .

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



PERMIT ISSUE TIMES

®Statute sets the time frame for permit
issuance at 60 days

©® PLEASE remind your students not to contact

BCI unless it has been 60 days

©If an application status check
is requested, BCI prefers
applicants to email
dpsfirearms@utah.gov
after 60 days has lapsed
from the date the application K 4
was receipted {1 R -

' 53-5-704. Bureau duties -- Permit to carry concealed firearm -- Certification for concealed firearms instructor -- Requirements for issuance -- Violation -- Denial, suspension,
i or revocation -- Appeal procedure.

' (1)(@)  The bureau shall issue a permit to carry a concealed firearm for lawful self defense to an applicant who is 21 years of age or older within 60 days after receiving an
. application, unless the bureau finds proof that the applicant does not meet the qualifications set forth in Subsection (2).
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{: tm } FIREARM SAFETY PROGRAM

©BCI participates with the Utah
Department of Health and the Utah
Shooting Sports Council in a program to
promote firearm safety and suicide
prevention.

®©The following video can be found
at and
may be used to help educate your
students about these issues.


https://youtu.be/w3gFeRNskv0

CONCEALED FIREARM PERMIT
COURSE REVIEW
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©Firearm familiarity must be taught in
person

©BCI does not accept waivers as evidence of
general familiarity

53-5-704. Bureau duties -- Permit to carry concealed firearm -- Certification for concealed firearms instructor -- Requirements for issuance -- Violation -- Denial, suspension,
or revocation -- Appeal procedure.

(b) An applicant may satisfy the general familiarity requirement of Subsection (8)(a) by one of the following:

(i) completion of a course of instruction conducted by a national, state, or local firearms training organization approved by the bureau;

(ii) certification of general familiarity by a person who has been certified by the bureau, which may include a law enforcement officer, military or civilian firearms
instructor, or hunter safety instructor; or

(iii) equivalent experience with a firearm through participation in an organized shooting competition, law enforcement, or military service.

(c) Instruction taken by a student under Subsection (8) shall be in person and not through electronic means.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
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2} CFP COURSE REQUIREMENTS

©® Hands on instruction in:
© Safe loading
© Unloading
© Storage
© Carrying firearms concealed

© Review of current laws defining lawful firearm use
© Lawtful self defense
© Use of force
© Transportation
© Concealment

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

i 53-5-704. Bureau duties -- Permit to carry concealed firearm -- Certification for concealed firearms instructor -- Requirements for issuance -- Violation -- Denial, suspension,
' or revocation -- Appeal procedure.

- (8) (a) General familiarity with the types of firearms to be concealed includes training in:

i (i) the safe loading, unloading, storage, and carrying of the types of firearms to be concealed; and

(i) current laws defining lawful use of a firearm by a private citizen, including lawful self-defense, use of force by a private citizen, including use of deadly force,

' transportation, and concealment.
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\ CFP COURSE REQUIREMENTS

®Course instruction must meet the

“minimum training curriculum”
as set forth by BCI

®A copy of the curriculum
must be signed with the
instructor application

® Additional copies
can be accessed
on BCI’s website:
bci.utah.gov



f;;m, CFP COURSE REQUIREMENTS

© Instructor shall provide each student with
the required course of instruction outline

approved by BCI

®Printed copy
®Burned on a CD

®©Thumb Drive

®Each student must leave with a physical copy of
the curriculum (no email)

' 53-5-704. Bureau duties -- Permit to carry concealed firearm -- Certification for concealed firearms instructor -- Requirements for issuance -- Violation -- Denial, suspension, |
i or revocation -- Appeal procedure.
- (10) A certified concealed firearms instructor shall provide each of the instructor's students with the required course of instruction outline approved by the bureau.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



iw CFP COURSE REQUIREMENTS

© A time study was conducted which determined 4 hours
is a reasonable, minimal time frame to cover all the
required material from the training curriculum.

© This is not mandatory, provided all aspects of the training
curriculum are covered.

© All information must be presented with adherence to the
minimum training curriculum. Additional information
can be presented at the instructor’s discretion.

© If you are teaching a multi-state class it is not necessary
to re-cover information taught in the previous class.

© It is EVERY INSTRUCTOR’S responsibility to ensure all
material in the minimum training curriculum is covered.
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L f;;;, CFP COURSE REQUIREMENTS

®Handgun Safety
Training & General Familiarity

©® Handgun safety rules
©Causes of accidents
©Elements of firearm safety
®Four basic gun safety rules

®ORange safety rules
©Child safety
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: m CFP COURSE REQUIREMENTS

®Handgun Safety
Training & General Familiarity

® Hand gun parts and operation
©Frame
©Barrel
©Action
OFunction and firing mechanism check
©Safe loading/unloading, cocking/de-cocking
®Revolver cylinder rotation
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L m CFP COURSE REQUIREMENTS

®Handgun Safety
Training & General Familiarity

®© Ammunition
©Cartridge Types
©Cartridge Components
®Firing Sequence
©Safety and General Guidelines
©Care and Storage

® Ammunition Malfunctions
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: m CFP COURSE REQUIREMENTS

®Handgun Safety
Training & General Familiarity

©® Fundamentals of shooting
®Basic two hand shooting positions
®Basic shooting fundamentals
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f;;m, CFP COURSE REQUIREMENTS

®Handgun Safety
Training & General Familiarity

© Safe handling

©Range rules

©Maintenance and cleaning

©Safe draw, presentation, and holstering
©Safe concealment considerations

©Safe storage (firearms and ammunition)



:‘“ STATE CODE, FEDERAL CODE,

\2/  AND ADMINISTRATIVE RULE
®Utah Criminal and Trafftic Code

®Concealed Firearm Act

®]Justification of force

®Rules of arrest, by whom, and how made
®©Weapons in prohibited areas/circumstances
®©Weapons laws

® Assault and related offenses

®©Weapons laws
®Non-concealed permit holder
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N STATE CoDE, FEDERAL CODE,
h AND ADMINISTRATIVE RULE

©Federal Firearms Regulations
©®Section 922 Unlawtul Acts
©Straw Purchase

©Unl
©Unl
@®©Unl
©Unl

awful
awful
awful

awful

ITransport

Transter

Possession

Possession in a School Zone



/Z2% STATE CODE, FEDERAL CODE,

_* AND ADMINISTRATIVE RULE

®18 USC Section 924
®Penalties

®18 USC Section 926 A

O©Interstate Transportation of Firearms

®18 USC Section 929

®Use of Restricted Ammunition

®18 USC Section 930

®Restrictions of Federal Facilities



/Z2% STATE CODE, FEDERAL CODE,

152‘*’4}
_* AND ADMINISTRATIVE RULE

©BCI Administrative Rule and Policy

®R722-300 Concealed Firearm Permit and
Instructor Rule

®Regulatory Duties
®Permit Application Process

©Criteria for Issuance, Denial, Suspension,
and Revocation

©®© Adjudicative Procedures



INSTRUCTOR
UPDATES AND REMINDERS

©® All instructors should regularly check the
BCI website for new and updated
information

g
. '
r
* =t oy U
I".-._;,.n"l' '

®bci.utah.gov

®“Information for
Concealed Firearm
Instructors”
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© “Law allows you to shoot an attacker twice in the chest and
once in the head.”

© Interspersing other occupational sidelines with the CFP
course

©®© As a permit holder, “ I work for you.”

© “If you are approached by a closed fist attacker, deadly
force is justitied.”

©® When advertising your CFP instructor business, don’t send
BCI the bill.

© When demonstrating, don’t use live ammunition.
©® Weaver Stance — “How you shoot a target that is weaving.”

© If you extend a warning for someone to leave your
property and they don’t, you can shoot them dead.



(&5}  COURSE MONITORING
NI

® Overt and Covert course checks

® BCI monitors CFP courses, both in and out of state

©BCI has a dedicated Investigator who monitors and
investigates courses and complaints to ensure compliance
with the minimum training curriculum, etc.

© Complaints

© Instructor and applicant complaints will be aggressively
investigated

® Instructor fraud or non-compliance

® An instructor whois found to be in violation of Federal
law, Utah law or BCI administrative rule may be subject
to suspension/revocation and/or criminal prosecution.



(=)} CONCEALED FIREARM ACT
11,%7*"“;@‘! ':ﬂ:‘

©BCI is mandated by law to issue a
concealed firearms permit within 60 days.

®©The 60 day period will start once the
applicant’s account is charged.

®Inform your students not to call before 60
days to check on the progress of their permit,
the same people processing the permits are
answering the phones and it slows down the
process.

]
' 53-5-704. Bureau duties -- Permit to carry concealed firearm -- Certification for concealed firearms instructor -- Requirements for issuance -- Violation -- Denial, suspension,

i or revocation -- Appeal procedure.
' (1)(@)  The bureau shall issue a permit to carry a concealed firearm for lawful self defense to an applicant who is 21 years of age or older within 60 days after receiving an

. application, unless the bureau finds proof that the applicant does not meet the qualifications set forth in Subsection (2).



{54  BACKGROUND CHECKS

© In order to be eligible to receive a Utah concealed
firearm permit, the bureau must be able to check each
and every applicant’s criminal history through local,
state, and national databases.

© If the bureau is unable to do a background check of each of the
following items, the applicant will not be eligible to receive a
Utah concealed firearm permit.

® Utah Computerized Criminal ® Criminal justice juvenile files
History (UCCH) @ Criminal history expungement
@ National Crime Information Center  system
(NCIC) @ National Instant Check System
@ Interstate Identification Index (I11) (NICS)
@ Dirivers license information ® Immigration and Naturalization
@® Statewide warrants file Service (when applicable)



/=N INSTRUCTOR LICENSE AND
*_,' CONCEALED FIREARM PERMIT

® The Utah CFP instructor UTAH _________ C380592

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

licenses and Concealed Carry Concealed Firearm Permit

NAME TEST TEST
DOR 01/01/1%01 SEX M

permits are a “privilege” the Eemerrrra—

State haS granted you/ and RSUT 03/31/2016 EXPIRATION 01/01/2021

HT 500 WT 100 EYES: BLK HAIR: BLK

like any granted privilege, it |E—————ryv

can be suspended or '
.
revoked. However, if you ity S

follow a few simple rules, the [

ApDREss: 123 FAKE ST

State of Utah should have no |

ATE OF DATBOF o 1272002019
I55UE: 12/20/2016 EXPIRATION

reason to suspend or revoke |EEEEEECTRS
your permit. |
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PERMIT HOLDER AND APPLICANT
DISQUALIFYING CRITERIA
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©® Please remind your students

e

e

© Court paperwork, pardons,
expungements, or any other
documentation surrounding

hat if they mark yes to a
question on the application,
hey should also attach an
explanation and any
supporting documentation
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©Must receive within a year
of class date
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\ FALSE WRITTEN STATEMENTS

©® An individual who provides false information on a CFP
application is guilty of a class B misdemeanor

© The application may be denied, or the permit may be
suspended or revoked.

ed of a felony?
ed of a crime of violence?

er been convicted of any offense involving moral turpitude? (i_e., theft, criminal mischief, sex crimes, etc.)
er been convicted of offense invelving domestic violence?
you ever been adjudicated as mentally incompetent?
Are you currently subject to a court sanctioned protective order?

Have you ever been dishonorably discharged from the amed forces?

LNGINTS: A department approved firearms instructor must complete the following certification information:

> NS lors S Is
The applicant, has met the criteria The instructor's stamp goes in this box
established by the Utah Department of Public Safety and Utah Code Ann. § 53-5-
704(8). | certify this to be true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

Instructor
Signature -

Training Date
Month

ALL APPLICANTS: Please read and sign the statement below:

1 undersiand that it is a class B mi neancr to knowingly and willfully provide false information on a concealed firearm permit application and may result in the
denial of a permit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. § 53-5-704(15). | hereby declare under criminal penalty of the State of Utah that the information contained on this
application is true and correct.

Executed on
(Date)

53-5-704. Bureau duties -- Permit to carry concealed firearm -- Certification for concealed firearms instructor -- Requirements for issuance -- Violation -- Denial, suspension,
or revocation -- Appeal procedure.

(15) An individual who knowingly and willfully provides false information on an application filed under this part is guilty of a class B misdemeanor, and the application may
be denied, or the permit may be suspended or revoked.



DISQUALIFYING CRITERIA

© The bureau may deny, suspend, or revoke a concealed
firearm permit if the applicant or permit holder:
© has been or is convicted of a felony;
® has been or is convicted of a crime of violence;
© has been or is convicted of an offense involving the use of alcohol;

© has been or is convicted of an offense involving the unlawful use of
narcotics or other controlled substances;

© has been or is convicted of an offense involving moral turpitude;
© has been or is convicted of an offense involving domestic violence;

© has been or is adjudicated by a state or federal court as mentally
incompetent, unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or
reversed; and

© is not qualified to purchase and possess a firearm pursuant to
Section 76-10-503 and federal law.



DISQUALIFYING CRITERIA

s, 1L
b et

© C(Class C misdemeanors & INfractions............cceceviiiiuiiiiiiiiniiiiciicec et e e s 3 years
® C(lass B misdemeanors............. opmowedp. .. .. o K& N7 opmmmrin ol B AN 4 years
OJN @ ETSEIVN 0 1 1=Te 1S3 0 0 T<F: 1 g 1o -~ R e S PP S g 5 years
® ProtectiveOrder................%... . A A2 & B . ... K. 8T Lifetime
©  Domestic VIOIeNCe. ... .....iiiiiiiiniii i Lifetime
©  Felony CONVICHON. .. .uiuiti e Lifetime
© Convicted of a registrable sex offense......................o Lifetime
© Mentally Incompetent. ..o Lifetime
© Danger to self or others................cooeiiiiiiiiiiiiiniincccieccccceeneeeen... CEP Board's discretion
© DPast pattern of violent behavior............................oovvcvivieeeeen.. CEP Board's discretion
© False information on initial or renewal permit application........................ CFP Board’s discretion
© Failure to provide sufficient fingerprints...... Suspension until acceptable fingerprints are received
© Is not qualified to purchase and possess firearms pursuant to Section 76-10-503 and federal law

© Utah Administrative Code allows BCI to consider mitigating circumstances after the time period

O]

has elapsed from the date the applicant was convicted or released from incarceration, parole, or
probation, whichever occurred last

Restoration of Rights/Relief from Disabilities are still a denier if the felony conviction remains on
the criminal history
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1 ha il M ORAL I URPITUDE
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e S
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e
© Theft © Wildlife violations involving
© Fraud weapons
® Tax evasion © Receiving stolen property
® Issuing bad checks © Firearms violations
© Robbery © Burglary
® Interference with police ® Vandalism
© Fleeing, resisting, or ®© Kidnapping
tailure to obey police © Crimes involving
® Obstruction of justice unlawful sexual conduct
® Bribery © Violations of the pornographic and
® Perjur harmful materials and
® Ext t?] performances act
xtortion
© Falsifying govt. records
© Arson ey o
© Criminal mischief
© Forgery

]
' R722-300-3(2)(I) An offense involving moral turpitude, means a crime under the laws of this state, any other state, the United States, or any district, possession, or territory of
i the United States involving conduct which: is done knowingly contrary to justice, honesty, or good morals; has an element of falsification or fraud; or contains an element of

' harm or injury directed to another person or another’s property

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



| (A JUVENILE FELONIES
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® Non-Violent Felony -~ ® Violent Felony

® Distribute Controlled ® Murder
Substance © Aggravated Assault
© Forgery © Rape
®© Theft ® Aggravated Kidnapping
® Possession of a stolen ® Robbery
vehicle ® Burgl ary

® Receive stolen property ® Aggravated Arson

® Possession of a controlled
substance

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Juvenile Felony Convictions Disqualifying Time Frame
10 years for a violent felony
7 years for a non-violent felony

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



INSTRUCTOR
\.*/  DISQUALIFYING CRITERIA
®Reasons instructors are disqualified

©The bureau may deny, suspend, or revoke the
certification of a concealed firearms instructor
if it has reason to believe the applicant has

©Become ineligible to possess a firearm or Utah
concealed firearm permit

©Knowingly and willfully provided false
information to the bureau

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

' 53-5-704. Bureau duties -- Permit to carry concealed firearm -- Certification for concealed firearms instructor -- Requirements for issuance -- Violation -- Denial, suspension,
' or revocation -- Appeal procedure.

|
- (12) The bureau may deny, suspend, or revoke the certification of an applicant or a concealed firearms instructor if it has reason to believe the applicant or the instructor
]
' has:
- (a) become ineligible to possess a firearm under Section 76-10-503 or federal law; or

i (o)) knowingly and willfully provided false information to the bureau.
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©In the event of a denial, suspension or
revocation by BCI, the applicant or instructor
may file an appeal
©The appeal must be received in writing and

within 60 days of the date of denial, suspension,
or revocation

©The petitioner will have the opportunity to
address the board and explain the appeal

O®Petitioner is not required to appear before the board

®Once a ruling is made by the board, the petitioner
will be notified by BCI within 30 days



e W C FP REVI EW BOARD
L () 5

®Concealed Firearm Review Board
®Five members

© Appointed by the DPS Commissioner and
serve a four year term

©The board shall include a member
representing law enforcement and at least two
citizens, one of whom represents sporting
interests

®©The board meets once every three months

' 53-5-703. Board -- Membership -- Compensation -- Terms -- Duties.
i (7) The board, upon receiving a timely filed petition for review, shall review within a reasonable time the denial, suspension, or revocation of a permit or a temporary
' permit to carry a concealed firearm

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



©® Qualified individuals 18 to 20 years old

® Same qualifications as standard permit
© Expires on 21st birthday
© Must apply for full permit at 21
©® Prohibited from carrying in
elementary/secondary schools
©® Non-resident applicant rules apply
© Recognition/Non-recognition
© Does the applicant’s state offer a provisional permit?
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(&} PROVISIONAL PERMIT FAQS
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©® Can a provisional permit holder carry a firearm
in schools?

©No. UCA § 53-5-710(2), specifically excludes an under
21 permit holder from carrying a concealed firearm
on or about school premises.
©® Can a provisional permit holder purchase a
handgun from a firearm dealer?

©No. Per 18 USC § 922(b)(1) a person under 21 may not
purchase a handgun from a federal firearm licensee.
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(: m PROVISIONAL PERMIT FAQS

© Can I take the concealed permit class and apply

for the provisional permit betore my 18th
birthday?

© Applicants may take the class at 17, but same one
year application limit applies.

®How do [ upgrade to a standard permit?

©The provisional permit expires on the permit holder’s
21st birthday. A complete application, including
fingerprints, photo, and fees must be submitted for a
standard permit. The only exception is the class
requirement which may be satisfied by including a
copy of the provisional permit.
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(&) PROVISIONAL DISCLAIMER

© DPS/BCI continues to verity the
recognition status with other states

® However, as with all laws it is the
responsibility of the individual to
understand and comply with all
applicable laws of the jurisdiction in
question



(&) UTAH LEGAL ISSUES

®Some Topics for discussion
®Definitions associated with use of force laws

©Ideas and explanations common to use of force
statutes

®©Use of and justification of force in Utah law
©Statutes which most directly relate to CFPs

®Secured Areas and travel issues
®Issues and considerations for CFP holders



0\ BoDILY INJURY
\&Z/  SERIOUS VS. SUBSTANTIAL

2 g

©®Serious bodily injury creates or causes
serious permanent distigurement, protracted
loss or impairment of function of any bodily

member or organ, or creates a substantial risk
of death

®©Substantial bodily injury that creates or
causes protractec?/ physical pain, temporary
distigurement, or temporary loss or
impairment of the function of any bodily
member or organ.

 76-1-601. Definitions.
I . . . . .
Unless otherwise provided, the following terms apply to this title:
- (11) "Serious bodily injury" means bodily injury that creates or causes serious permanent disfigurement, protracted loss or impairment of the function of any bodily
]
' member or organ, or creates a substantial risk of death.
- (12) "Substantial bodily injury" means bodily injury, not amounting to serious bodily injury, that creates or causes protracted physical pain, temporary disfigurement, or
' temporary loss or impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ.



) FORCIBLE FELONIES

©Commonality is force against persons

®aggravated assault, mayhem, aggravated
murder, murder, manslaughter, kidnapping,
and aggravated kidnapping, rape, forcible
sodomy, rape of a child, object rape, object rape
of a child, sexual abuse of a child, aggravated
sexual abuse of a child, and aggravated sexual
assault, arson, robbery, burglary, occupied
vehicle burglary, offenses which create
substantial risk of death/s.b.i.

' 76-2-402. Force in defense of person -- Forcible felony defined. (4)

i €)) For purposes of this section, a forcible felony includes aggravated assault, mayhem, aggravated murder, murder, manslaughter, kidnapping, and aggravated |
' kidnapping, rape, forcible sodomy, rape of a child, object rape, object rape of a child, sexual abuse of a child, aggravated sexual abuse of a child, and aggravated sexual assault |
- as defined in Title 76, Chapter 5, Offenses Against the Person, and arson, robbery, and burglary as defined in Title 76, Chapter 6, Offenses Against Property.

i (b) Any other felony offense which involves the use of force or violence against a person so as to create a substantial danger of death or serious bodily injury also

" constitutes a forcible felony.

- (c) Burglary of a vehicle, defined in Section 76-6-204, does not constitute a forcible felony except when the vehicle is occupied at the time unlawful entry is made or
]

- attempted.

]

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
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(/%)) FIREARMS AT A RESIDENCE

®In the State of Utah, a person® may have a
loaded firearm at his residence

®An improvement to real property used or
occupied as a primary, secondary, or
temporary residence

©Camp, tent, trailer, motor home, motel room, etc.

© *non-restricted person

. 76-10-511. Possession of loaded firearm at residence or on real property authorized.

. Except for persons described in Section 76-10-503 and 18 U.S.C. Sec. 922(g) and as otherwise prescribed in this part, a person may have a loaded firearm:
(1) at the person's place of residence, including any temporary residence or camp; or

- (2) on the person's real property.
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..fi:; CRIMINAL VS CIvIL LIABILITY

®Criminal

©The burden of proof on the state is
"beyond a reasonable doubt.”

©Liability determined for criminal punishment,
prison, fines etc.

©Civil
©The burden of proof on the party asserting the

claim is by the
“preponderance of the evidence.”

©Liability determined to restore monetary or
physical loss.
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©Utah law protects the user of force from
civil actions from next-of-kin, heirs, etc.
if acting within the law

©Entered property with criminal intent, or

©Injury/damage occurred during commission of a
crime

®Doesn’t apply if actions weren't a crime or

78B-3-110. Defense to civil action for damages resulting from commission of crime.

(1) A person may not recover from the victim of a crime for personal injury or property damage if:

(a) the person entered the property of the victim or the victim's family with criminal intent and the injury or damage was inflicted by the victim or occurred while the person was
on the victim's property; or

(2 The provisions of Subsection (1) do not apply if the person can prove by clear and convincing evidence that the person's actions did not constitute a crime.

)
) Subsection (1) applies to any next-of-kin, heirs, or personal representatives of the person if the person acquires a disability or is killed.
(4) Subsections (1) and (2) do not apply if the person committing or attempting to commit the crime has clearly retreated from the criminal activity.

) "Clearly retreated" means that the person committing the criminal act has fully, clearly, and immediately ceased all hostile, threatening, violent, or criminal behavior or activity.

|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
(o)) the person committed a crime against the victim or the victim's family, during which the damage or injury occurred. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|



(&)  DEFENSE OF A PERSON

LA |

®Must reasonably believe force is necessary

®Defend against imminent use of unlawful
force

®May use force intended or likely to cause
death or serious bodily injury

© If used to prevent death, s.b.i., forcible felony
®No duty to retreat if lawftully there

76-2-402. Force in defense of person -- Forcible felony defined.

(1)(a) A person is justified in threatening or using force against another when and to the extent that the person reasonably believes that force or a threat of force is
necessary to defend the person or a third person against another person's imminent use of unlawful force.

(b) A person is justified in using force intended or likely to cause death or serious bodily injury only if the person reasonably believes that force is necessary to prevent
death or serious bodily injury to the person or a third person as a result of another person's imminent use of unlawful force, or to prevent the commission of a forcible felony.
(2)(a) A person is not justified in using force under the circumstances specified in Subsection (1) if the person:

(i) initially provokes the use of force against the person with the intent to use force as an excuse to inflict bodily harm upon the assailant;
(ii) is attempting to commit, committing, or fleeing after the commission or attempted commission of a felony; or
(iii) was the aggressor or was engaged in a combat by agreement, unless the person withdraws from the encounter and effectively communicates to the other person his

intent to do so and, notwithstanding, the other person continues or threatens to continue the use of unlawful force.



DEFENSE OF HABITATION

©® Reasonable belief force is needed to stop
entry or attack on habitation

©Entry is violent, tumultuous, or by stealth

©With the purpose of assault or personal
violence or commission of a felony

76-2-405. Force in defense of habitation.

(1) A person is justified in using force against another when and to the extent that he reasonably believes that the force is necessary to prevent or terminate the other's
unlawful entry into or attack upon his habitation; however, he is justified in the use of force which is intended or likely to cause death or serious bodily injury only if:
€) the entry is made or attempted in a violent and tumultuous manner, surreptitiously, or by stealth, and he reasonably believes that the entry is attempted or made for

]

]

]

]

]

]

]

l

]

- the purpose of assaulting or offering personal violence to any person, dwelling, or being in the habitation and he reasonably believes that the force is necessary to prevent the
i assault or offer of personal violence; or
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]

(b) he reasonably believes that the entry is made or attempted for the purpose of committing a felony in the habitation and that the force is necessary to prevent the
commission of the felony.
(2) The person using force or deadly force in defense of habitation is presumed for the purpose of both civil and criminal cases to have acted reasonably and had a

reasonable fear of imminent peril of death or serious bodily injury if the entry or attempted entry is unlawful and is made or attempted by use of force, or in a violent and
tumultuous manner, or surreptitiously or by stealth, or for the purpose of committing a felony.



DEFENSE OF HABITATION

®User of force is presumed reasonable

©Acted out of reasonable fear of imminent peril
©If the entry was unlawful and used force or

® Violent, tumultuous, by stealth, or to commit
a felony

®Both criminal and civil cases

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

76-2-405. Force in defense of habitation.

(1) A person is justified in using force against another when and to the extent that he reasonably believes that the force is necessary to prevent or terminate the other's
unlawful entry into or attack upon his habitation; however, he is justified in the use of force which is intended or likely to cause death or serious bodily injury only if:
€) the entry is made or attempted in a violent and tumultuous manner, surreptitiously, or by stealth, and he reasonably believes that the entry is attempted or made for

]

]

]

]

]

]

]

l

]

- the purpose of assaulting or offering personal violence to any person, dwelling, or being in the habitation and he reasonably believes that the force is necessary to prevent the
i assault or offer of personal violence; or
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]

(b) he reasonably believes that the entry is made or attempted for the purpose of committing a felony in the habitation and that the force is necessary to prevent the
commission of the felony.
(2) The person using force or deadly force in defense of habitation is presumed for the purpose of both civil and criminal cases to have acted reasonably and had a

reasonable fear of imminent peril of death or serious bodily injury if the entry or attempted entry is unlawful and is made or attempted by use of force, or in a violent and
tumultuous manner, or surreptitiously or by stealth, or for the purpose of committing a felony.



DEFENSE ON REAL PROPERTY

®This is defense of persons on real property
©® Same basic elements as defense of habitation

©Reasonable/Imminent/Unlawful trespass/Violent/etc.
®Must be in lawful possession of real property

© Real Property generally refers to land, structures,
etc.

©Same presumption of reasonableness

76-2-407. Deadly force in defense of persons on real property.

(1) A person is justified in using force intended or likely to cause death or serious bodily injury against another in his defense of persons on real property other than his
habitation if:

(a) he is in lawful possession of the real property;

(b) he reasonably believes that the force is necessary to prevent or terminate the other person's trespass onto the real property;

(c) the trespass is made or attempted by use of force orin a violent and tumultuous manner; and

reasonably believes that the force is necessary to prevent personal violence; or

(ii) the person reasonably believes that the trespass is made or attempted for the purpose of committing a forcible felony as defined in Section 76-2-402 that poses
imminent peril of death or serious bodily injury to a person on the real property and that the force is necessary to prevent the commission of that forcible felony.
(2) The person using deadly force in defense of persons on real property under Subsection (1) is presumed for the purpose of both civil and criminal cases to have acted

reasonably and had a reasonable fear of imminent peril of death or serious bodily injury if the trespass or attempted trespass is unlawful and is made or attempted by use of
force, or in a violent and tumultuous manner, or for the purpose of committing a forcible felony.

]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
:
]
- (d)(i) the person reasonably believes that the trespass is attempted or made for the purpose of committing violence against any person on the real property and he
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]



{(=:}  DEFENSE OF PROPERTY

LA |

®Force, other than deadly force

©®© Reasonably believes force is necessary to
prevent or terminate criminal interference

©Property lawfully in his possession
©The possession of an immediate family member

®Possession of another whose property he has a
legal duty to protect

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

76-2-406. Force in defense of property -- Affirmative defense.

(1) A person is justified in using force, other than deadly force, against another when and to the extent that the person reasonably believes that force is necessary to
prevent or terminate another person's criminal interference with real property or personal property:

) lawfully in the person's possession;

) lawfully in the possession of a member of the person's immediate family; or

) belonging to a person whose property the person has a legal duty to protect.

) In determining reasonableness under Subsection (1), the trier of fact shall, in addition to any other factors, consider the following factors:
) the apparent or perceived extent of the damage to the property;

) property damage previously caused by the other person;

) threats of personal injury or damage to property that have been made previously by the other person; and

) any patterns of abuse or violence between the person and the other person.
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:ii: 5 ARREST BY PRIVATE PERSONS

©® Arrests may be made for
©Public offense committed in your presence
©®© Reasonable cause to believe the person has
committed a felony
®Should you make an arrest or should you
be a good witness?
®Necessary use of force?
©ldentitiable by responding law enforcement?

- 77-7-3. By private persons.

i A private person may arrest another:

(1) For a public offense committed or attempted in his presence; or

- (2) When a felony has been committed and he has reasonable cause to believe the person arrested has committed it.
Yy
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w ) :} DETERMINING REASONABLENESS

®Some things a court may consider
©Nature of danger
©Immediacy of danger

©Probability that unlawtul force would result
in death or serious bodily injury

®Prior violent acts or propensities
®Patterns of abuse or violence

i 76-2-402. Force in defense of Person.
) In determining imminence or reasonableness under Subsection (1), the trier of fact may consider, but is not limited to, any of the following factors:
| ) the nature of the danger;
) the immediacy of the danger;
- (c) the probability that the unlawful force would result in death or serious bodily injury;
the other's prior violent acts or violent propensities; and
any patterns of abuse or violence in the parties' relationship.
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w ); :1 UNJUSTIFIABLE CIRCUMSTANCES

® Provokes the use of force as an excuse to
inflict harm

©Committing or tleeing the commission of
a felony

®Force to facilitate the crime or the escape

®Engaged in mutual combat

®Unless he withdraws and effectively
communicates intent to withdraw

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

: 76-2-402. Force in defense of Person.

- (2) €) A person is not justified in using force under the circumstances specified in Subsection (1) if the person:

(i) initially provokes the use of force against the person with the intent to use force as an excuse to inflict bodily harm upon the assailant;

i (ii) is attempting to commit, committing, or fleeing after the commission or attempted commission of a felony; or |
- (iii) was the aggressor or was engaged in a combat by agreement, unless the person withdraws from the encounter and effectively communicates to the other person his
]

- intent to do so and, notwithstanding, the other person continues or threatens to continue the use of unlawful force.
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®Unjustified and unlawful force

® Assault

©Attempt or act that causes or risks bodily injury to
another

®©Aggravated Assault

© Attempt, threat, or act that causes or risks bodily
injury to another and includes use of a dangerous
weapon

®Threat of Violence

©Threatens and acts with intent to place a person in
imminent fear of injury or death



w } SECURE/PROHIBITED AREAS

®Concealed permit holders may not carry
firearms into these areas:

®Secure facilities (court, law enforcement,
correctional, and mental health facilities)

®Posted notices

®House of worship or private residence where
prohibited

® Any airport secure area
©Other prohibited State or Federal facilities

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

' 53-5-710. Cross-references to concealed firearm permit restrictions.

I A person with a permit to carry a concealed firearm may not carry a concealed firearm in the following locations:

(1) any secure area prescribed in Section 76-10-523.5 in which firearms are prohibited and notice of the prohibition posted;

i (2) in any airport secure area as provided in Section 76-10-529; or

| (3) in any house of worship or in any private residence where dangerous weapons are prohibited as provided in Section 76-10-530.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



P
IIIII
d

(5"} PROHIBITION NOTIFICATION

©®If notification has been given per statute, a
person may not carry a concealed firearm
into houses of worship, private residences,
private businesses r

®Personal communication N D T’ E E

®Posting of signs ':m\?vEEADR{)d:
® Announcement PREMISES E

A

®Publication in newspaper, newsletter,
bulletin, etc.

' 76-10-530. Trespass with a firearm in a house of worship or private residence -- Notice -- Penalty.

N

(1) A person, including a person licensed to carry a concealed firearm pursuant to Title 53, Chapter 5, Part 7, Concealed Firearm Act, after notice has been given as

i provided in Subsection (2) that firearms are prohibited, may not knowingly and intentionally:
- (a) transport a firearm into:...
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®Federal Facilities

®A building or part thereof owned or leased by the
Federal Government, where Federal employees
are regularly present for the purpose ot
performing their official duties

®Indian Reservations

©Obtain permission through tribal leadership
©Not applicable to highways passing through

®National Parks/National Forests
®©Must abide by laws of state where park is located
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® General

© State laws regarding the possession of firearms vary.
ALWAYS consider your travel mode, route, and
destination and understand state requirements before
traveling.

® Air Travel

© NEVER ATTEMPT TO TRAVEL WITH FIREARMS IN
YOUR CARRY ON LUGGAGE!!!

OIT DOES NOT MATTER IF THE INTENT WAS CRIMINAL OR
[F YOU SIMPLY FORGOT YOU POSSESSED A FIREARM.

© Best Practice is to always “unpack before you pack!”

©® Ensure your luggage and clothing are clear of any firearms
Oor ammunition.

© Never use a range bag for a travel bag.



727} TRAVELING WITH FIREARMS
S

© Firearms and ammunition are ONLY accepted as
checked baggage and must be declared to an agent at
check in.

© Firearms must be transported unloaded and in a locked,
hard-sided container.

© Most airlines do not accept firearms to be checked
curbside.

© TSA provides a number of resources to assist you:
blog.tsa.gov
www.tsa.gov
www.tsa.gov/travel/security-screening/prohibited-items

© Always check with the TSA, specific airport, and
airline you're traveling with for exact rules and
procedures.
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© Except as specifically provided by state law,
no one is...

© Prohibited from owning, possessing, purchasing,
selling, transferring, transporting, or keeping any
firearm in his place of residence, property, business, or
in any vehicle lawfully in his possession or lawfully
under his control; or

©® No permit or license required to purchase, own,
possess, transport, or keep a firearm

© No requirement to register firearms with the State of
Utah

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

- 76-10-500. Uniform law.

(1) The individual right to keep and bear arms being a constitutionally protected right, the Legislature finds the need to provide uniform laws throughout the state.
i Except as specifically provided by state law, a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien shall not be:
- (a) prohibited from owning, possessing, purchasing, selling, transferring, transporting, or keeping any firearm at his place of residence, property, business, or in any

- vehicle lawfully in his possession or lawfully under his control; or
] . . . N
: (b) required to have a permit or license to purchase, own, possess, transport, or keep a firearm.
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® No CFP: open carry only, must be holstered
or encased and must be statutorily unloaded

© With CFP: ability to open carry or have
concealed fully loaded

© Number of weapons and weapon type not specific

' 76-9-102. Disorderly conduct.

: (3) The mere carrying or possession of a holstered or encased firearm, whether visible or concealed, without additional behavior or circumstances that would cause a
' reasonable person to believe the holstered or encased firearm was carried or possessed with criminal intent, does not constitute a violation of this section. Nothing in this
. Subsection (3) may limit or prohibit a law enforcement officer from approaching or engaging any person in a voluntary conversation.
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)R OPEN CARRY LAW

©All weapons have to be holstered or encased
as of 2014. Amended Disorderly Conduct

Statute

© Example: No more just open carry “slung” long guns

76-9-102. Disorderly conduct.

€)) The mere carrying or possession of a holstered or encased firearm, whether visible or concealed, without additional behavior or circumstances that would cause a
reasonable person to believe the holstered or encased firearm was carried or possessed with criminal intent, does not constitute a violation of this section. Nothing in this
Subsection (3) may limit or prohibit a law enforcement officer from approaching or engaging any person in a voluntary conversation.
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® Threatening manner does not include:

© The possession of a dangerous weapon, whether visible or
concealed, without additional behavior which is
threatening

©®© May place hand on weapon while holstered and advise the
possession of the weapon and to verbally disengage from
the confrontation

© Drawing your weapon with out justification would be
considered threatening behavior

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

i 76-10-506. Threatening with or using dangerous weapon in fight or quarrel.

- (b) "Threatening manner" does not include:

i (i) the possession of a dangerous weapon, whether visible or concealed, without additional behavior which is threatening; or

(i) informing another of the actor's possession of a deadly weapon in order to prevent what the actor reasonably perceives as a possible use of unlawful force by the

' other and the actor is not engaged in any activity described in Subsection 76-2-402(2)(a).

i (2) Except as otherwise provided in Section 76-2-402 and for those persons described in Section 76-10-503, a person who, in the presence of two or more persons, and

' not amounting to a violation of Section 76-5-103, draws or exhibits a dangerous weapon in an angry and threatening manner or unlawfully uses a dangerous weapon in a fight i
- or quarrel is guilty of a class A misdemeanor. |
i (3) This section does not apply to a person who, reasonably believing the action to be necessary in compliance with Section 76-2-402, with purpose to prevent another's
- use of unlawful force:

' (a) threatens the use of a dangerous weapon; or (b) draws or exhibits a dangerous weapon.






(o LOADED FIREARM
s VEHICLE OR STREET

® No CFP while in vehicle:

© Applies to handguns only: can have statutorily
loaded or unloaded, concealed or not concealed

©Person is 18 years or older
©Is in lawful possession of the vehicle
©Not a restricted person

©® No CFP on public street:
©Must be in plain view (open carry)
© Must be holstered or encased
© Must be statutorily unloaded
©Not a restricted person



() LOADED FIREARM
& VEHICLE OR STREET
_

® With CFP in Vehicle: Same as non CFP holders

but now you can have loaded long guns and
rifles

©® With CFP on Street: Can have as many
handguns and/or rifles/shotguns either
concealed or visible on person and be loaded or
unloaded and encased

® Remember a Utah Concealed Permit does not indicate
how many or what type of firearms can be legally

carried
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
i 76-10-505. Carrying loaded firearm in vehicle or on street.
(1) Unless otherwise authorized by law, a person may not carry a loaded firearm:
€) in or on a vehicle, unless: (i) the vehicle is in the person's lawful possession; or
i (ii) the person is carrying the loaded firearm in a vehicle with the consent of the person lawfully in possession of the vehicle;
- (b) on a public street; or (c) in a posted prohibited area.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
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N/ LOADED AND UNLOADED
©Semi Automatic:

©Fully loaded magazine without
a round in the chamber

®Revolvers:

©Cylinder behind hammer must
be empty and the next cylinder
in rotation must also be empty

® A Six shooter now becomes a four shooter

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

i 76-10-502. When weapon deemed loaded.

(1) For the purpose of this chapter, any pistol, revolver, shotgun, rifle, or other weapon described in this part shall be deemed to be loaded when there is an
i unexpended cartridge, shell, or projectile in the firing position.
- (2) Pistols and revolvers shall also be deemed to be loaded when an unexpended cartridge, shell, or projectile is in a position whereby the manual operation of any

- mechanism once would cause the unexpended cartridge, shell, or projectile to be fired.
i (3) A muzzle loading firearm shall be deemed to be loaded when it is capped or primed and has a powder charge and ball or shot in the barrel or cylinders.
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©® No CFP: Can’t carry concealed or loaded other than
the person's residence, property, a vehicle in the
person's lawful possession, or a vehicle, with the
consent of the individual who is lawfully in possession
of the vehicle, or business under the person's control

© If caught with concealed “loaded” firearm (no CFP) guilty of
class A misdemeanor

© If caught with unlawfully possessed short barrel shotgun or a
short barrel rifle (class 3 weapons) guilty of a 2nd Degree
felony

O) Reminder' Valid permit holders can carry legally owned

___________________________________________

i 76-10-504. Carrying concealed firearm -- Penalties.
(1) Except as provided in Section 76-10-503 and in Subsections (2), (3), and (4), a person who carries a concealed firearm, as defined in Section 76-10-501, including an |
- unloaded firearm on his or her person or one that is readily accessible for immediate use which is not securely encased, as defined in this part, in or on a place other than the

: person's residence, property, a vehicle in the person's lawful possession, or a vehicle, with the consent of the individual who is lawfully in possession of the vehicle, or
' business under the person's control is guilty of a class B misdemeanor.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
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/7% PROTECTION OF ACTIVITIES

X, PRIVATE VEHICLES

© Legal to store firearms in locked vehicles parked on
private property
© Employers may ban firearms on their property but;

© MUST provide alternative parking at no cost to employee, or;

© Provide a secured and monitored storage location where the
individual may securely store a firearm before proceeding with the
vehicle on to the property

34-45-103. Protection of certain activities -- Firearms -- Free exercise of religion.

(1) Except as provided in Subsection (2), a person may not establish, maintain, or enforce any policy or rule that has the effect of:

€) prohibiting any individual from transporting or storing a firearm in a motor vehicle on any property designated for motor vehicle parking, if:
(i) the individual is legally permitted to transport, possess, purchase, receive, transfer, or store the firearm;

(ii

(

i) the firearm is locked securely in the motor vehicle or in a locked container attached to the motor vehicle while the motor vehicle is not occupied; and
iii) the firearm is not in plain view from the outside of the motor vehicle
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© Exemptions to private parking lots
©® School premises
© Governmental entities

© Religious organizations-acting as employer

© Residential units-Single family or tenant occupied-
Apartments
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34-45-103. Protection of certain activities -- Firearms -- Free exercise of religion.

| |
i (1) Except as provided in Subsection (2), a person may not establish, maintain, or enforce any policy or rule that has the effect of: i
- (a) prohibiting any individual from transporting or storing a firearm in a motor vehicle on any property designated for motor vehicle parking, if: :
i (i) the individual is legally permitted to transport, possess, purchase, receive, transfer, or store the firearm; i
i (ii) the firearm is locked securely in the motor vehicle or in a locked container attached to the motor vehicle while the motor vehicle is not occupied; and |
: |

(iii) the firearm is not in plain view from the outside of the motor vehicle
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© Concealed Weapon Act restrictions do not apply to
any of the following:

© US Marshal, or any federal official required to carry a
firearm

©® Peace Officer of this or any other jurisdiction
©® Law Enforcement Official or Judge as defined and qualified
©® FFL Dealer engaged in regular business

©® Non-Utah resident traveling through state, provided all
firearms are unloaded and securely encased

- 76-10-523. Persons exempt from weapons laws.

i (1) Except for Sections 76-10-506, 76-10-508, and 76-10-508.1, this part and Title 53, Chapter 5, Part 7, Concealed Firearm Act, do not apply. to any of the following:

- (a) a United States marshal; (b) a federal official required to carry a firearm; (c) a peace officer of this or any other jurisdiction; (d) a law enforcement official as defined
i and qualified under Section 53-5-711; (e) a judge as defined and qualified under Section 53-5-711; or (f) a common carrier while engaged in the regular and ordinary transport
- of firearms as merchandise.

- (2) The provisions of Subsections 76-10-504(1) and (2), and Section 76-10-505 do not apply to any person to whom a permit to carry a concealed firearm has been
i issued: (a) pursuant to Section 53-5-704; or (b) by another state or county. |
- (3) Except for Sections 76-10-503, 76-10-506, 76-10-508, and 76-10-508.1, this part and Title 53, Chapter 5, Part 7, Concealed Firearm Act, do not apply to a nonresident !

- traveling in or though the state, provided that any firearm is: (a) unloaded; and (b) securely encased as defined in Section 76-10-501.
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ﬁ; ﬁ, 1 LAW ENFORCEMENT CONTACT

®Persons are not required in Utah to notity
Law Enforcement about CFP
©Utah residents: CFP status is on DL history

when checked by police and is available to
out-of-state law enforcement upon request

®Encourage all individuals with or without
CFP to be cooperative and comply with all
lawtul orders from police officers

- 77-7-15. Authority of peace officer to stop and question suspect -- Grounds.
i A peace officer may stop any person in a public place when he has a reasonable suspicion to believe he has committed or is in the act of committing or is attempting to
' commit a public offense and may demand his name, address and an explanation of his actions.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
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©® Law enforcement advised to only keep and mail
back CFP cards to BCI for Revoked status

© Applies to resident Utah CFP ONLY!
®Incidents involving a CFP disqualitying offense
violation
©Forward a copy of the incident report to BCI

©® Enforcement action is done by BCI Investigators,
the final review and findings are done by the

CFP board

© Common example: Mental health, Suicides



722"\ DISCHARGE OF FIREARM
\&2/  PRIVATE PROPERTY - LIABILITY

© A private property owner who knowingly allows
a person who has a permit to carry a concealed
firearm under Section 53-5-704 to bring a firearm
onto the owner’s property, is not civilly or
criminally liable for any damage or harm resulting
from the discharge of the firearm by the permit
holder while on the owner’s property.

©® Civilly or Criminal Liable if property owner
solicits, requests, commands, encourages, or

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

i 53-5a-103. Discharge of firearm on private property -- Liability. |
(1) Except as provided under Subsection (2), a private property owner, who knowingly allows a person who has a permit to carry a concealed firearm under Section 53-5- |
704 to bring the firearm onto the owner's property, is not civilly or criminally liable for any damage or harm resulting from the discharge of the firearm by the permit holder

i while on the owner's property.

- (2) Subsection (1) does not apply if the property owner solicits, requests, commands, encourages, or intentionally aids the concealed firearm permit holder in

- discharging the firearm while on the owner's property.



EXCEPTION

© Civilly or Criminal Liable if property owner
solicits, requests, commands, encourages, or
intentionally aids in the firearms discharge

53-5a-103. Discharge of firearm on private property -- Liability.

(1) Except as provided under Subsection (2), a private property owner, who knowingly allows a person who has a permit to carry a concealed firearm under Section 53-5-
704 to bring the firearm onto the owner's property, is not civilly or criminally liable for any damage or harm resulting from the discharge of the firearm by the permit holder
while on the owner's property.

(2) Subsection (1) does not apply if the property owner solicits, requests, commands, encourages, or intentionally aids the concealed firearm permit holder in
discharging the firearm while on the owner's property.



ﬁ _____ ) ALCOHOL/ CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE
& VIOLATIONS

®Violation to carry dangerous weapon
while under the influence of alcohol and
or a controlled substance

®(Class B Misdemeanor
®Not a Defense:

®Has a valid concealed firearm permit
®Licensed in the pursuit of hunting

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

i 76-10-528. Carrying a dangerous weapon while under influe of alcohol or drugs unlawful.
(1) Any person who carries a danger s weapon wh le d r the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance as

defined in Section 58-37-2 is guilty of a class B
. misdemeanor. Under the influe s the same level of influence or blood or breath alcohol concentration as provided in Subsections 41-6a-502(1)(a) through(c).
i (2) It is not a defense to p d r this section that the person
- (a) is licensed in th e pur t fw Idlf of a y ki d
' (b) has a valid permit to carry a concealed firearm.



FIREARMS CONFISCATION
PROHIBITION

©State of Emergency or Disaster:

I

©® Government and law enforcement may not
confiscate firearms if lawful to possess

©Oftficers may not be disciplined for refusing to
confiscate

®Law Enforcem n rnmen
aw Enforcement and government S

may be subject to CiVﬂ damages _EM E RDGFE NCY
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' 53-2a-214. Prohibition of restrictions on and confiscation of a firearm or ammunition during an emergency.

i (2) During a declared state of emergency or local emergency under this part:

- (a) neither the governor nor an agency of a governmental entity or political subdivision of the state may impose restrictions, which were not in force before the declared
i state of emergency, on the lawful possession, transfer, sale, transport, storage, display, or use of a firearm orammunition; and

- (b) an individual, while acting or purporting to act on behalf of the state or a political subdivision of the state, may not confiscate a privately owned firearm of another

- individual.

i (5)(a) Alaw enforcement officer is not subject to disciplinary action for refusing to confiscate a firearm under this section if:

(i) ordered or directed to do so by a superior officer; and

]

]

]

(ii) by obeying the order or direction, the law enforcement officer would be committing a violation of this section.
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©Title 18 Chapter 44 - 922 Unlawtul acts

® Straw Purchase

©Unlawtul transport ot firearm by non-licensed
dealer, importer , manufacturer, or collector

®Unlawful transfer of a firearm to restricted
person

©Unlawful possession of a firearm by restricted
person

®Unlawtul possession of a firearm in a school
zone
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:_,-;; 2} “STRAW” FIREARM PURCHASE

©Knowingly make or furnish a false or
fictitious oral or written statement or
misrepresented identification intending to
deceive with respect to purchasing a
firearm.
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(=) TRANSPORTING FIREARMS

®Interstate transportation of a firearm for
lawtul purpose is allowed if:
©The transporter is not a restricted person
©The firearm is not restricted
©Only FFLs may transport to engage in business
©Firearm must be unloaded

®© Ammunition and firearm not readily accessible or
directly accessible from the passenger compartment
unless in a locked container excluding glove box or
console



FEDERAL FIREARM
PROHIBITORS



FELONIES

© Conviction punishable by term exceeding one year
© Not just felonies
©® Includes pending felonies
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® Unlawful user of controlled substance

©®Possession (illegal) is a one year disqualifier even it
case is dismissed or found not guilty
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® Conviction of misdemeanor crime of domestic
violence (MCDYV)

® Misdemeanor

©® No infractions

©Felony DV would be denied as a felony
® Crimes

© Must be a conviction
®© Domestic

© “Intimate partner” as defined by the FBI

® Violence

® Must involve an element of force



AR ADJUDICATED MENTALLY

R
e | T
NP

©® Adjudicated mentally defective

©® Prohibited for life, even with rights restored and or
expunged
©Exceptions: Voluntary admits, in mental institution for

observation/evaluation. Received ATF relief from disabilities
under 18 U.S.C 478.144.
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&) PROTECTIVE ORDER

® Protective order
©Utah protective orders are non expiring
® Has to have an element of cohabitation

®Restraining orders (neighbors), stalking injunctions, etc. are
not prohibitors




{0\ ADDITIONAL FEDERAL

N PROHIBITORS
© Illegally or unlawtully in the U.S.

©® Dishonorable discharge from the armed forces

©® Renounced U.S. citizenship
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Illegal or unlawtully in the U.S.
Dishonorable discharge from the armed forces
Renounced U.S. citizenship

@@@@

Protective order
© Utah protective orders are non expiring.
® Has to have element of cohabitation

®Restraining orders (neighbors), stalking injunctions, etc. are
not prohibitors

® Conviction of misdemeanor crime of domestic
violence (MCDYV)

©® Pending Felony Charges
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© Unlawtul to possess a firearm at a place that the
individual knows, or has reasonable cause to
believe, is a school zone

© Exception: If the individual possessing the firearm is
licensed to do so by the State in which the school zone
is located
©®Public schools: A valid concealed firearm permit
holder can possess a firearm within a public
school

©®Private schools can restrict firearms (similar to private
property owners)



FIREARMS ON SCHOOL PREMISES

©Exceptions:
®Law Enforcement
@®Utah Concealed Firearm Permit Holder

©The possession is approved by the responsible
school administrator; for a lawful approved
activity and is in the possession or control of the
responsible person

®In any vehicle lawfully under the person’s control

76-10-505.5. Possession of a dangerous weapon, firearm, or short barreled shotgun on or about school premises -- Penalties.

(2) A person may not possess any dangerous weapon, firearm, or short barreled shotgun, as those terms are defined in Section 76-10-501, at a place that the person
knows, or has reasonable cause to believe, is on or about school premises as defined in this section.

(3)(a)  Possession of a dangerous weapon on or about school premises is a class B misdemeanor. (b) Possession of a firearm or short barreled shotgun on or about school

(4) This section does not apply if: (a) the person is authorized to possess a firearm as provided under Section 53-5-704, 53-5-705, 76-10-511, or 76-10-523, or as
otherwise authorized by law; (b) the possession is approved by the responsible school administrator; (c) the item is present or to be used in connection with a lawful,
approved activity and is in the possession or under the control of the person responsible for its possession or use; or (d) the possession is: (i) at the person's place of residence

]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
l
] . . .
- premises is a class A misdemeanor.
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]
]

or on the person's property; or (ii) in any vehicle lawfully under the person's control, other than a vehicle owned by the school or used by the school to transport students.
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© Cannot sell to anyone outside your state of
residency

© Exception, Utah residents can sell firearm to active
duty military personal stationed in Utah
®©Must have duty orders-PCS Orders

©® No registration required
©Only transactions at the FFL dealership are registered

©® Cannot sell to anyone under 18 years of age

®Suggest that a non-licensed sale include a bill of
sale between parties to prove the transfer
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©®It is the responsibility of each instructor
and/or permit holder to keep up with
changes in Federal law, Utah law, and
Administrative rules.

Remember Laws Change!!
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©BCI Website
®bci.utah.gov

®Utah Criminal and Traffic Codes
®le.utah.gov
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(&) BCI INFORMATION
®Physical address/mailing address:

Bureau of Criminal Identification
3888 W 5400 S

Salt Lake City, UT 84129
(801)965-4445

dpstirearms@utah.gov
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