
Step 1 — Apply for a certificate of eligibility through BCI
 Expungement application forms can be found at:

https://bci.utah.gov/expungement-forms-and-applications/, or can be requested in person at BCI

 BCI will conduct research to determine which incident(s) are eligible for expungement.

 BCI will send you a letter indicating which incident(s), if any, are eligible for expungement.

Purchase Certificate(s) of Expungement Eligibility from the Bureau of Criminal Identification

 Indicate which eligible Incident(s) you want to purchase, and pay all associated fees as indicated in
the BCI letter.  A Certificate will need to be purchased for each eligible incident you want to expunge.

Move to Step 2 as soon as possible

 You have 90 days (including weekends and holidays) from the date listed on the letter of
Expungement Eligibility to petition the court(s) for an expungement order. If you do not get the
certificate(s) to the court and petition before the 90 days is up, the certificates will expire and you
will need to reapply.

Step 2 — File the petition with the certificate of eligibility with court and serve Prosecutor
Complete an expungement order petition form, through the appropriate court, for each Certificate 
of expungement eligibility purchased from BCI and pay applicable court fees.
 Petition forms and instructions for all courts can be found online at:

utcourts.gov/exp under the “Court Forms” section, or can be requested in person at the court.  Call
Utah State Courts Self-Help Center at 888-683-0009 if you need further assistance. You can also use
the QR code to the left.

Submit petition form(s) and Certificate(s) of Eligibility to the appropriate court AND PROSECUTOR 
The Judge will review the petition(s) and the court will notify you. 

 Make sure your Certified Expungement Order(s) contain the following information:  defendant’s name
and date of birth; date of arrest; charges along with the class; court name; court case number; court
disposition and date; judge’s signature and court seal

 You will need to pay all court fees associated with obtaining the Certified Expungement Order(s)

Step 4 — Distribution of Expungement Order(s) to Complete  Expungement

 BCI will expunge from the Utah Criminal History database and notify the FBI to expunge
their record(s).

 A letter will be sent to you indicating removal of BCI records and notification to the FBI to
remove their records.

Expungement Applicant Instructions  - Please Read ALL Instructions Below

***PLEASE BE ADVISED. A certificate of eligibility does not guarantee a court will order your case expunged. It is 
your responsibility to understand applicable law and procedures. Prosecutors or victims may object for various 
reasons including if you are currently on probation for any case. BCI will not refund any fees based solely on an 
objection or denial of the petition.*** 

Step 3 - Respond to possible objections and attend any court hearings. 

Give a copy of the certified expungement Order(s) to: BCI, Arresting Agency, Corrections, Prosecutor, 
Booking Agency, and Board of Pardons. Any agency involved with your case.

KEEP A CERTIFIED COPY OF EXPUNGEMENT ORDER(S) FOR YOUR PERSONAL RECORDS

If the expungement petition is approved, you will need to purchase certified expungement order(s) from the court.




