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INTRODUCTIONS

CFP Instructor Program Administrator
©Compliance Specialist Mindy Lindquist

®Bureau of Criminal Identification, 25+ years
®Firearms Section
@CEFP and PI Board Coordinator
@®Law Enforcement Liaison
©Brady Section




COURSE OVERVIEW

©® Course Requirements

© Application
(CFP & Instructors)

® Certification
(CFP & Instructors)

® Official Seal

® Problem Areas

® Permit Flow Chart

© Statistics

® States that honor our CFP
® Law Enforcement Contacts

©®© CFP Course Review
©®© General Familiarity

©® Minimum Training
Curriculum

©®© Background Checks

© Disqualitying Criteria

©®© Appeals Process

© Utah State Law

© Federal Firearms Regulations
®© FAQs



INSTRUCTOR REQUIREMENTS



COURSE REQUIREMENTS

® Instructional Course and Test

® A Utah concealed firearms instructor, in order to
obtain initial certification or renew a certification,
shall attend an instructional course and pass a
certification test

© The course shall include instruction on
© Current Utah law related to firearms
© Concealed carry statutes and rules
©The use of deadly force by private citizens


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
This list is not all-inclusive.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53/Chapter5/53-5-S704.html

INSTRUCTOR APPLICATION

© What must accompany your application

® BCI course certificate

© Proof of having completed a firearms instructor training course
from the National Rifle Association (NRA), the Utah Department
of Public Safety, Division of Peace Officer Standards and
Training (I>O.S5.T.) or their equivalent (initial application only)

©® One passport quality photo
© Photocopy of driver license

© Signed Agreement that you will teach
Utah minimum training curriculum

© Possess a Utah concealed firearm permit

© One year deadline all instructor/permit applications must be submitted to BCI
within one year of instructor/CFP course completion


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Show a copy of the certificate and curriculum from the packet.  

There is a checklist on the application.  Make sure that the application packet is complete.  We will not hold on to incomplete applications.

Certificate is in their packet.

Copy of DL should be on an 8 ½ X 11 sheet of paper.  If it is cut out, it is more likely to get lost in the shuffle of opening the mail.

Possess Utah a current, valid CFP  UAC 53-5-704 (9) (v).  If your permit is suspended or revoked, your instructor license will also be suspended or revoked.

If you wait for almost a year and there is a problem with the application and the year passes, your application will be returned and you will have to re-take the class.


INSTRUCTOR APPLICATION

State of Utah

Department of Public Safety
APPLICATION FOR CONCEALED FIREARM INSTRUCTOR

INSTRUCTIONS

A complete criminal background check will be conducted on all applicants. (Instructors must be of good character as defined in
section 53-5-704 UCA and must be eligible to possess firearms under state and federal law.)

FEES: Fees are non-refundable
Instructor Application $50.00: An instructor’s certification is valid for three years from the date of issue.
Renewal Application $25.00: Renewal certification is valid for three years from date of issue.

Each applicant for certification or renewal as a Utah Concealed Carry Instructor MUST attend a course of instruction provided by the
Bureau of Criminal Identification and pass a certification test before certification or renewal can be issued.

The required course will be provided at least twice yearly; it is the applicant’s responsibility to make all necessary arrangements to
attend.

WHAT MUST ACCOMPANY THE APPLICATION
Q Utah Concealed Carry Instructor Course Certificate and one other instructor certification listed below

o N.R.A. Firearms Instructor Certificate
o Utah P.O.S.T. Firearms Instructor Certificate

Attach a signed copy of our minimum training guidelines

If you wish to expand your course, please provide a copy of your course curriculum

One color passport quality photo. Name must be written on the back of the photo

A photocopy of your driver license or state identification card

A photocopy of your valid Utah Concealed Firearm Permit

Attach a summary of your qualifications and past experience as a firearms instructor

INSTRUCTOR RESPONSIBILITES
Q  Instructors must provide each student who attends their course with a copy of the approved course outline.
Q  Each instructor will be required to provide a signed certificate of completion to a person completing the offered course of
instruction. The certificate of completion requires a stamp of the certified instructors “official seal” (only a seal design
provided by the State of Utah will be accepted). A copy of the seal design will be provided by BCI, however it is the

instructor’s responsibility to obtain the seal.

o A new seal will be required each time certification is renewed to reflect the new expiration date.

Every concealed firearm permit applicant must receive instruction in the areas outlined by Section 53-5-704(8) of the
“Concealed Weapons Act” as set forth in the Bureau’s training guidelines.

Instructors MUST supply a valid phone number and/or e-mail to be listed on the BCI website for customer contact. Contact
information must be current at all times or instructor will be removed from listing.

Instructors must notify BCI of any address change.

Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification 3888 W 5400 S Taylorsville Utah 84129 (801) 965-4445 - - -BCI-1523C-0306

©® All BCI applications
have a checklist of items
that are required.

Make sure you use the
checklist.

Incomplete applications
will be returned.



INSTRUCTOR APPLICATION

State of Utah
Department of Public Safety
APPLICATION FOR CONCEALED FIREARM INSTRUCTOR

Your application will not be processed unless this form is completely filled out and all applicable questions have been
answered. Be sure to provide all supporting documents. Enclose the appropriate fee $50.00 in the form of cash, check,
money order or credit card made payable to “Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification.” FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE. Please rea

d all instructions
prior to completing this form. TYPE OR PRINT IN INK. Firearms Instructor $50.00

Name. Date of Birth, Place of Birth
(Last) (First)
Previously used Name(s) (Maiden, etc.), Social Scourity Nut
Address,
(Streen) (County) (State)
Mailing Address (if different from street address)
Home Phone#, Work Phone #

Height Weight,

What is your Ci Alien Registration # or Naturalization #
ALL APPLICANTS: Please answer “Yes” or “N

Fave you ever been convicled of a felony?
Have you ever been convicled of a crime of violence?
Have you ever been convicted of an offense invalving the use of alconol? (i.e. DUIDWI, alcohol related reckless, unlawful use of alcohol,
Have you ever been convicled of the unlawful use of narcatics or other controlled substances?
Have you ever been convicted of any offense involving moral turpitude? (i.e., theft, criminal mischief, sex crimes, etc.)
Have you ever been convicted of offense involving domestic violence?
Have you ever been adjudicated as mentally incompetent?
Are you currently subject to a court sanctioned protective order?
/ave you ever been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces?
Instructors desiring to be listed on the BCT website MUST supply a valid phone number and/or e-mail for customer contact

, etc)

EMAIL OR WEBSITE ADDRESS
This information must be current at all times, if changed BCI must be notified immediately.
O Please check this box if you DO NOT want your name and number on our website.

Please answer “Yes” or “No” to the following question.

Yes No Do you meet all of the firearms instructor criteria as listed on the instruction sheet”

ALL APPLICANTS: Please read and sign the statement below.

Lunderstand that it is a class B misdemeanor to knowingly and willfully provide false information on an application for cerfification as a concealed firearms permit instructor and
may result in the denial of certification pursuant to Utah Code Ann. § 53-5-704(15). I hereby declare under criminal penalty of the State of Utah that the information contained on
this application is true and correct

Signed on:
(Date)

(Signature)

METHOD OF PAYMENT (CHECK APPROPRIATE BOX) Payment enclosed (check or money order only) Credit Card

rd payment must include 3 or 4-digit control number found on the back of the credit card. There is a $20.00 service charge for any returned check.

Credit Card Signature Zip Code Associated with Credit Card

*Discover O

Card Number — 15 digit AMEX or 16 digit Visa, MasterCard or Discover 3ord di'il control # Exiralion Date

Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification 3888 W 5400 S Taylorsville Utah 84129 (801) 965-4445 - BCI-1523C-0306
Revised 1072020

® You are applying for
an instructor license
and need to complete
the application to
receive the license.



INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION

® Renewal Period

©Instructor certification is valid for a three-year period
from the issue date of initial and each subsequent
renewal application.

® Fees

©Each applicant for certification shall pay a fee of
$50.00

® The renewal fee for the certificate is $25.00

©Certifications expired by more than 30 days will incur a $7.50
late fee. Applications received after one year of expiration
are invalid and the applicant must complete the full
application process again.


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Fees can change due to legislation.  Be sure to check our web site for the newest application.

For new instructors, you have 1 year from the class to get your completed application to us.

For renewals, you have 30 days from the expiration of your instructor license.  If more than 30 days, you incur the late fee.  If your license is expired by more than 1 year, you must start over.


INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION

@®In addition to the instructor certificate
issued by BCI, instructors are issued a
“Utah Concealed Firearm Instructor”
identification card

STATE OF UTAH
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

Concealed Firearms Instructor Certification

UTAH 1999999

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Concealed Firearm Instructor

JOHN Q SAMPLE

NAME: TEST TEST
pop 01011901 sex: F

ADDRESS: 123 FAKE ST

ciry: FAKECITY 51 UT  zpp. 11111
DATE OF DATE OF
ISSUE: 12/20/2016 EXPIRATION 12/20/2019

HT: 511 WT:220 EYES: BLU HAIR: BRO



Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
These will arrive together.


CERTIFIED INSTRUCTOR LOGO

®CCertified Instructor

® Instructors ARE NOT
employed by BCI
or the State of Utah




INSTRUCTOR SEAL

® Instructor’s Official Seal
® All instructors must obtain an official seal

©The seal shall be affixed to all certificates issued by
the instructor

©The exact design of the seal is determined by BCI

State of U
Utah Certified Concealed Firearms Instructor

My centification expires on: 11/01/2016
Instructor First Last Name

7 | Address
City, State Zip

Example of an instructor’s official seal


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
A copy of the layout is included on your CD.  Your stamp must be readable.  Too small.  Use too much ink and it bleeds.  We have to be able to read your license number.


INSTRUCTOR SEAL

© Stamps can be produced by any stamp maker
but must follow BCI design and include:

® Instructor name, instructor #,
and the BCI Logo

®The words “Utah Certified Concealed Firearms
Instructor” and “State of Utah”

© Certification expiration date
® Instructor’s business or residence address

Stamp company information
is available on your thumb drive



CONCEALED FIREARM PERMIT
APPLICANT REQUIREMENTS



BUREAU AUTHORITY

© BCI has statutory authority to supervise and administer
rules and laws that pertain to the concealed firearm and

instructor programs.

© BCI does not have the statutory authority to turn away
instructor applications or limit the number of
instructors.

©® Any changes in the law, administrative rules, reciprocal
agreements or changes in training requirements to
include a practical shooting exercise would have to be
accomplished through the legislature and/or the Utah
Attorney General’s Office.


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
We don’t cap the number of instructors.


WHyY A UTAH CFP?

® Some common reasons people may seek a
Utah Concealed Firearm Permit
© The ability to carry a firearm fully loaded
© The ability to carry a firearm concealed

© Waives the $7.50 background check fee for purchasing a
firearm (Utah residents only)

©®© Recognition of Utah’s permit by other states
© Permit valid for 5 years
© Lower permit cost compared to many other states

© Utah law makes no distinction or defines what type of
firearm a concealed firearm permit holder can possess or
how many



APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS

@ Utilize the bordered space
rovided on the application
o stamp with the official seal.

A oy
¥ of B
oo o,

o USN

Hon)

Pay attention to the

Hair Copoy.

8 sg g ooha
wOties g o, & oy
. ot gy o T SOty
3 domest "Titucay e, gy

Ompa . :

UUBY, o
D St
© Violgp, % o, ?

® The application must be
completed by the

Pemy

applicant pl‘iOI‘ tO the "’ P B' ' TR B
instructor signing and N
stamping the application.


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Point out the parts of the application mentioned on the slide.


APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS

© Application requirements:
© 21 years of age or older
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©® Photocopy of driver license

© One (blue) type applicant
fingerprint card

© Instructor stamp in ink

© Non-resident applicants who reside
in a state that Utah has reciprocity or
recognition with must also supply
proof of having obtained a permit
from their state of residency
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®© Applications must be received by BCI o
within one year of taking the concealed firearm permit course


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
We’ll get into the specifics of why applications are commonly returned in later slides.


APPLICATION FEES
As 0F 3/7/2023

©Resident Concealed Firearm Permit
$53.25
©%$25.00 - Permit processing fee
©%$13.25 - FBI fingerprint processing fee

©$15.00 - State background check fee

®Non Resident Concealed Firearm Permit
$63.25
©%$35.00 - Permit processing fee
©%$13.25 - FBI fingerprint processing fee
©%$15.00 - State background check fee


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Check our web site frequently for the most current fees and application.  If fees are incorrect, the application will be returned, regardless of what is printed on the application.


APPLICATION RENEWALS

®©Renewal requirements:
©® $20.00 in state renewal fee
© $25.00 out of state renewal fee
©® Completed application
©® One passport quality photo

®Permits expired by more than 30 days will incur a
$7.50 late fee.

©Expired permits received that are over a year old
will require the applicant to complete the full
application process again


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
These fees are changing in July due to legislation.  Check our web site.


APPLICATION RENEWALS

©Permit holders may renew
in person, by mail, and online.

®©To renew online, go to
https://secure.utah.gov/concealed-firearms

®There is a $0.75 convenience fee to renew over the
internet.

©Permit holders will need the capability to upload a
passport quality photo and a copy of his/her own
states concealed firearm permit or concealed
weapon permit, if applicable.


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Be sure to use the site in the slide.  There are several sites that make it look like you can renew through them.  They do not actually process or submit your renewal.  You will need to know your permit number to apply online.


ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY

©Utah waives permit renewal fees for active
duty service members and their spouses

©This only applies to active duty service
members and their spouses
while stationed in Utah


https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53/Chapter5/53-5-S707.html

PROBLEM AREAS
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PROBLEM AREAS

© Not providing a copy of the applicant’s driver license
©Not providing a copy of the applicant’s home state
permit (when applicable)
©8.5” X 11" paper (not wallet sized, cut out, etc.)

© Applicants born outside the United States must
supply proper documents

© All necessary copies must be made and attached to
the application prior to submission
© Current address must be on file with BCI
©USPS will not forward BCI mail

©OReturned mail will cause delays and additional costs to
the program



APPLICATION PHOTOS

©® Applicants required to submit a recent
color photograph of passport quality

®Passport quality means:

®©Approximately 2 in. X 2 in.

©Taken within last 6 months
and showing current
appearance

®Full front view of
subject’s face

®No hats or dark glasses
®Plain (white) background |——.


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
We prefer this to be on an 8 ½ by 11, but it can be smaller.  It helps if it is clipped to the application.  Anything to help us avoid losing the photo as we open mail.  Write your name on the back of the photo in case it gets separated.


FINGERPRINTS

©Prints must meet FBI requirements (53-5-706)

© Fingers rolled from one edge of the nail to the
other edge and just below the first joint K&

© Ridge characteristics are clear
© Impressions are uniform in tone

© There is an impression in each block

© If the digit has been amputated
or is disfigured,
write this in the box provided

© There are 4 impressions and a thumb
in the simultaneous impression block


https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53/Chapter5/53-5-S706.html

FINGERPRINTS

®Reasons prints may be rejected

© Ink is unevenly distributed

© Fingers are not fully inked

©® Too much or too little ink

© Fingers slip or twist during rolling
© Ridges are worn smooth

© One or more fingers printed twice

©® One or more impressions missing

© Fingerprints on the back of the card
© Fail to include complete information


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
We are going to refer your students back to you if their prints are rejected.


FINGERPRINTS

®Pressed versus rolled
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FINGERPRINT CARDS

®©Ensure Completeness

® Applicant name
& Signature

®Biometric data
®SSN/ITIN

©Print taker
Signature and date


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Include aliases if available.  Be sure to include the demographic data on the right side of the card.  We cannot cross populate information from the application to the FP card and vice versa.


PRINT CARD REQUESTS

® Due to budgetary and resource considerations,
BCI is no longer able to mail blank fingerprint
cards to instructors.

© Cards may still be picked up in person at the BCI
building
©® Instructors may purchase fingerprint cards

through the U.S. Government Bookstore
https://bookstore.gpo.gov/products/sku/027-001-00086-6

® Amazon.com search “FD-258 fingerprint cards”

©® Applicants may provide their own prints taken
by local law enforcement



APPLICANTS
BORN OQUTSIDE THE U.S.

© The applicant must be qualified to purchase and possess
a firearm pursuant to state and federal law

© The applicant must supply proot
of United States legal residency

® Naturalization Number

©® Born Abroad Birth Certificate
(ex. born on a US military base)

©® Valid U.S. Passport
© INS or Alien Registration Number

©® Supply a copy of the actual certificate



BADGES

@It is a Class B misdemeanor to

®Displays or possesses
any badge

©With the intent to deceive
or induce another to submit

to his pretended official
authority or act



https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter8/76-8-S512.html

NOTIFICATION OF CHANGES

Website Postings
Class Instruction
Direct Contact


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Check BCI’s web site regularly to find out any changes to Utah law.


APPLICATION TO PERMIT

® Applications are received at BCI

®In person, by mail, or online

©In person applicants may get fingerprints at BCI
for a fee of $15 each.

© Applications are processed by
date of receipt

®Permits are printed for approved
applicants

®Permits are sent by mail



PERMIT STATISTICS

© Total valid concealed firearm permits:
©BCI received 46,529 applications in 2022
©BCI received 58,117 applications in 2021
©BCI received 81,036 applications in 2020
©BCI received 49,313 applications in 2019
©BCI received 58,555 applications in 2018

Concealed Firearms, Total Applications

2022 Statistics

® Permits denied
® 864

© Permits suspended
© 1323

® Permits revoked
® 383
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Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
1,183,624 Utah permits have been issued between 1994 and 2020…..


RECOGNITION OF UTAH PERMITS

© The following states recognize the Utah permit:

® Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware,
Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky,
Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri,
Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, North
Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania,
South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia,
Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

©® Some states only recognize the Utah permit if the
permit holder is a Utah resident:

© Colorado, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Maine, New
Hampshire, Florida



RECOGNITION OF UTAH PERMITS

i
Indiana

Kansas

Maine

Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota

Mebraska
Nevada
Mew Hampshire

Recognition Status

Meither
Both
Meither
Both
Standard Only
Standard Only
Standard Only
Standard Only
Standard Only
Meither
Meither
Standard Only
Meither
Both
Both
Both
Standard Only
Both
Standard Only
Meither
Meither
Meither

Standard Permit Provisional Pemit

Home State Permit Home State Permit Home State Permit Home State Permit
Required to apply for WOT Required to apply Required to apply fora NOT Required to apply
Utah pemit for a Utah pemit Utah pemit for a Utah pemit

o o

Permit holders should always contact

any state they plan to visit to confirm their laws

Utah honors all valid permits


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
This is available on our web site.  We update it as we get new information, but do not take it as absolute truth.  If you are planning on visiting another state, it is best to contact that state to find out if they recognize the Utah permit and find out any rules or restrictions that may be unique to that state.


UTAH FIREARM LAW

© Authority given to the State

®Unless specifically authorized by the
Legislature by statute, a local authority or
state entity may not enact or enforce any
ordinance, regulation, or rule pertaining to
firearms.


https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter10/76-10-S500.html

PERMIT CONFIDENTIALITY

©Statute prohibits the sharing of concealed
firearm permit information

®A person is guilty of a class A misdemeanor if
the person knowingly discloses information
other than for an official law enforcement
purpose.


https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53/Chapter5/53-5-S708.html

PERMIT ISSUE TIMES

©Statute sets the time frame for permit
issuance at 60 days

© PLEASE remind your students not to contact

BCI unless it has been 60 days

®If an application status check | S
is requested, BCI prefers Bl 1}
applicants to email
dpsfirearms@utah.gov
after 60 days has lapsed X
from the date the application = #F~
was receipted 7



https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53/Chapter5/53-5-S704.html

FIREARM SAFETY PROGRAM

©BCI participates with the Utah Department
of Health and the Utah Shooting Sports
Council in a program to promote firearm
safety and suicide prevention.

©The following video can be found at
https://secure.Utah.gov/concealed-
firearms/renew/preventionVideo.html and

may be used to help educate your students
about these issues.



BREAK TIME




INVESTIGATOR INTRODUCTION

®Agent Colby Vanderbeek

©Law Enforcement Experience, 13+ years
©Utah Highway Patrol
©DPS Dive Team
©Utah CFP Instructor
©BCI Firearms Investigator
OPI Investigator




CONCEALED FIREARM PERMIT
COURSE REVIEW



CFP COURSE REQUIREMENTS

©Firearm familiarity must be taught in
person

©BCI does not accept waivers as evidence of
general familiarity


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Students from zero experience to tons of experience

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53/Chapter5/53-5-S704.html

CFP COURSE REQUIREMENTS

©® Hands on instruction in:
© Safe loading
© Unloading
© Storage
© Carrying firearms concealed

© Review of current laws defining lawtul firearm use
© Lawtful self defense
© Use of force
© Transportation
© Concealment


https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53/Chapter5/53-5-S704.html

CFP COURSE REQUIREMENTS

Course instruction must meet the

“minimum training curriculum”
as set forth by BCI

©® Copies can be accessed
on BCI’s website:
bci.utah.gov



Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Instructors contract with the state


CFP COURSE REQUIREMENTS

© Instructor shall provide each student with
the required course of instruction outline

approved by BCI
®Printed copy
®Burned on a CD

®©Thumb Drive

©It is now acceptable, as of 11/2/2022, to provide the
BCI link to students and a physical copy is not
required


https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53/Chapter5/53-5-S704.html

CFP COURSE REQUIREMENTS

© A time study was conducted which determined 4 hours
is a reasonable, minimal time frame to cover all the
required material from the training curriculum.

© This is not mandatory, provided all aspects of the training
curriculum are covered.

© All information must be presented with adherence to the
minimum training curriculum. Additional information
can be presented at the instructor’s discretion.

© If you are teaching a multi-state class it is not necessary
to re-cover information taught in the previous class.

© It is EVERY INSTRUCTOR’S responsibility to ensure all
material in the minimum training curriculum is covered.


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Takes about 4 hours to teach

Teach all MTC

Multi state class

IT IS THE INSTRUCTORS RESPONSIBILITY to teach all the MTC


CFP COURSE REQUIREMENTS

®Handgun Safety
Training & General Familiarity

©® Handgun safety rules
©Causes of accidents
©Elements of firearm safety
©Four basic gun safety rules

®ORange rules
©Child safety



CFP COURSE REQUIREMENTS

®Handgun Safety
Training & General Familiarity

©® Handgun parts and operation
©Frame
©Barrel
©Action
©Function and firing mechanism check
©Safe loading/unloading
®Revolver cylinder rotation



CFP COURSE REQUIREMENTS

®Handgun Safety
Training & General Familiarity

®© Ammunition
©Cartridge Types
©Cartridge Components
O®Firing Sequence
©Safety and General Guidelines
©Care and Storage

® Ammunition Malfunctions



CFP COURSE REQUIREMENTS

®Handgun Safety
Training & General Familiarity

©® Fundamentals of shooting
®Basic two hand shooting positions
®Basic shooting fundamentals



CFP COURSE REQUIREMENTS

®Handgun Safety
Training & General Familiarity

© Safe handling

®Maintenance and cleaning

©Safe draw, presentation, and holstering
®Safe concealment considerations

©Safe storage (firearms and ammunition)



STATE CODE, FEDERAL CODE,
AND ADMINISTRATIVE RULE

®Utah Criminal and Traffic Code

®Concealed Firearm Act

®]Justification of force

®Rules of arrest, by whom, and how made
©Weapons in prohibited areas/circumstances
®©Weapons laws

® Assault and related offenses

®©Weapons laws
®Non-concealed permit holder



STATE CODE, FEDERAL CODE,
AND ADMINISTRATIVE RULE

®Federal Firearms Regulations
®Section 922 Unlawful Acts
©Straw Purchase
®©Unlawful Transport
®Unlawful Transfer
®Unlawful Possession

®Unlawful Possession in a School Zone



STATE CODE, FEDERAL CODE,
AND ADMINISTRATIVE RULE

®18 USC Section 924
®Penalties

®18 USC Section 926 A

©Interstate Transportation of Firearms

®18 USC Section 929

®Use of Restricted Ammunition

®18 USC Section 930

®Restrictions of Federal Facilities



STATE CODE, FEDERAL CODE,
AND ADMINISTRATIVE RULE

©BCI Administrative Rule and Policy

®R722-300 Concealed Firearm Permit and
Instructor Rule

®Regulatory Duties
®Permit Application Process

©Criteria for Issuance, Denial, Suspension,
and Revocation

®© Adjudicative Procedures



INSTRUCTOR
UPDATES AND REMINDERS

All instructors should regularly check the
BCI website for new and updated
information

®bci.utah.gov

M has p,
e
hangey " UPdatey

®”“Information for
Concealed Firearm
Instructors” Sl



Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Check the website often


ERRONEOUS
TEACHING CONCEPTS

© “Law allows you to shoot an attacker twice in the chest and
once in the head.”

© Interspersing other occupational sidelines with the CFP
course

© As a permit holder, “ I work for you.”

© “If you are approached by a closed fist attacker, deadly
force is justitied.”

© When advertising your CFP instructor business, don’t send
BCI the bill.

© When demonstrating, don’t use live ammunition.
©® Weaver Stance — “How you shoot a target that is weaving.”

© If you extend a warning for someone to leave your
property and they dont, you can shoot them dead.



COURSE MONITORING

® Overt and Covert course checks
®© BCI monitors CFP courses, both in and out of state

©BCI has dedicated Investigators who monitor and investigate
courses and complaints to ensure compliance with the
minimum training curriculum, etc.

© Complaints

© Instructor and applicant complaints will be aggressively
investigated

® Instructor fraud or non-compliance

® An instructor who is found to be in violation of Federal
law, Utah law or BCI administrative rule may be subject
to suspension/revocation and/or criminal prosecution.



CONCEALED FIREARM ACT

©BCI is mandated by law to issue a
concealed firearms permit within 60 days.

©The 60 day period will start once the
applicant’s account is charged.

®Inform your students not to call before 60
days to check on the progress of their permit,
the same people processing the permits are
answering the phones and it slows down the
process.


https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53/Chapter5/53-5-S704.html

BACKGROUND CHECKS

© In order to be eligible to receive a Utah concealed
firearm permit, the bureau must be able to check each
and every applicant’s criminal history through local,
state, and national databases.

© If the bureau is unable to do a background check of each of the
following items, the applicant will not be eligible to receive a
Utah concealed firearm permit.

® Utah Computerized Criminal @ Criminal justice juvenile files
History (UCCH) @ Criminal history expungement
® National Crime Information Center  system
(NCIC) @ National Instant Check System
@ Interstate Identification Index (III) (NICS)
@ Dirivers license information ® Immigration and Naturalization
@® Statewide warrants file Service (when applicable)


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
If BCI employee’s can’t read the writing on the app they can’t run the checks


INSTRUCTOR LICENSE AND
CONCEALED FIREARM PERMIT

@ The Utah CFP inStI'UCtOI UTAH (380592

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

licenses and Concealed CaI'I'y Concea led Firearm Permit

NAME TEST TEST
DOE 01/01/1901 SEX. M

permits are authorized by

Utah law and Can alSO be %3&65131!201655?1’%25‘!01\:01.'01/2021

HT: 500 WT: 100 EYES: BLK HAIR: BLK

suspended or revoked by ——") V.

law. However, if you follow a p—
:
few simple rules, the state of Gy

NAME: TEST TEST

Utah should have no reason PEEEG

ADDRESS: 123 FAKE ST

to suspend or revoke your — |[EEEESEEISTIIL

ATE OF DATE OF
ISSUE: 12/20/2016 EXPIRATION 12/20/2019

.
permlt HT 511 WT-220 EvES BLU HAIR BRO
.
Commissioner of Public Safety: 2 o



Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
It is a privilege


PERMIT HOLDER AND APPLICANT
DISQUALIFYING CRITERIA



APPLICATION QUESTIONS

©® Please remind your students

hat if they mark yes to a
question on the application,
hey should also attach an
explanation and any

supporting documentation

Ere Color.

© Court paperwork, pardons,
expungements, or any other
documentation surrounding
case outcomes

iy
Cithiygy, 2 8 Copg,
" g o “ 0 gy
Stat pr g, iy
1 e



FALSE WRITTEN STATEMENTS

©® An individual who provides false information on a CFP
application is guilty of a class B misdemeanor

© The application may be denied, or the permit may be
suspended or revoked.

n convicted of a felony?
een convicted of a crime of violence?
n convicted of an offense involving the u:
T been convicted of the unlawful
n convicted of any offense involving moral turpitude? (i.e., theft, criminal mr
'ou ever been convicted of offense Iving domestic violence?
'ou e n adjudicated as mentally incompetent?
Are you currently subject to a court sanctioned protective order?
Have you e een dishonorably discharged from the amed forces?
NEW APPLNGINTS: A department approved firearms instructor must complete the following certification information:
The applicant, has met the criteria The instructor's stamp goes in
established by the Utah Department of Public Safety and Utah Code Ann. 5
704(8). | certify this to be true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

Instructor
Signature

Training Date
Month

Please read and sign the statement below
1 undersiand that it is a class B misdemeanor fo knowingly and willfully provide false information on a concealed firearm permit application and may result in the
denial of a permit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. § 53-5-704(15). | hereby declare under criminal penalty of the State of Utah that the information contained on t

application is true and correct.

Executed on:



https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53/Chapter5/53-5-S704.html

DISQUALIFYING CRITERIA

© The bureau may deny, suspend, or revoke a concealed
firearm permit if the applicant or permit holder:
© has been or is convicted of a felony;
® has been or is convicted of a crime of violence;
© has been or is convicted of an offense involving the use of alcohol;

© has been or is convicted of an offense involving the unlawful use of
narcotics or other controlled substances;

© has been or is convicted of an offense involving moral turpitude;
© has been or is convicted of an offense involving domestic violence;

© has been or is adjudicated by a state or federal court as mentally
incompetent, unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or
reversed; and

© is not qualified to purchase and possess a firearm pursuant to
Section 76-10-503 and federal law.


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
MT crimes in two slides


O OMONMOMOMONONOMOMOMOMOMOMNO,

O]

DISQUALIFYING CRITERIA

Class C misdemeanors & INfractions..........ccccueueiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiccccceee e, 3 years
Class B miSdemeanors. ... ......ouiuiniuiiniiiiiiiiii e 4 years
Class A MISAEIMEANOTS. ... ..ouiunitiiititi ittt e e e eaes 5 years
Protective Order...........ooiuiiiiii i Lifetime
Domestic VIOIENCe. ... . vuiniiiiiiii i Lifetime
Felony CONVICHON. ......uuvnitiiiii e e Lifetime
Convicted of a registrable sex offense....................coooiii Lifetime
Mentally Incompetent. ... Lifetime

Danger to self or others.....................ooiiiiiiicccvcccccceeeeeeeeenn.. CEP Board's discretion
Past pattern of violent behavior...............................ooeieeeen. CFP Board’s discretion
False information on initial or renewal permit application........................ CFP Board’s discretion
Failure to provide sufficient fingerprints...... Suspension until acceptable fingerprints are received
Is not qualified to purchase and possess firearms pursuant to Section 76-10-503 and federal law

Utah Administrative Code allows BCI to consider mitigating circumstances after the time period
has elapsed from the date the applicant was convicted or released from incarceration, parole, or
probation, whichever occurred last

Restoration of Rights/Relief from Disabilities are still a denier if the felony conviction remains on
the criminal history



MORAL TURPITUDE

© Theft © Wildlife violations involving
© Fraud weapons
® Tax evasion © Receiving stolen property
® Issuing bad checks © Firearms violations
©®© Robbery ©®© Burglary
® Interference with police © Vandalism
© Fleeing, resisting, or ®© Kidnapping
tailure to obey police © Crimes involving
® Obstruction of justice unlawful sexual conduct
® Bribery © Violations of the pornographic and
) Poriu harmful materials and
: y performances act
®© Extortion e
© Falsitying govt. records
© Arson .. 1
©® Criminal mischief
© Forgery


https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/rule/R722-300/Current%20Rules
https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/rule/R722-300/Current%20Rules

JUVENILE FELONIES

® Non-Violent Felony  ® Violent Felony

® Distribute Controlled ® Murder
Substance © Aggravated Assault
©® Forgery © Rape
© Theft ®© Aggravated Kidnapping
® Possession of a stolen ® Robbery
vehicle ® Burglary

© Receive stolen property © Aggravated Arson

® Possession of a controlled
substance

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Juvenile Felony Convictions Disqualifying Time Frame
10 years for a violent felony
/ years for a non-violent felony

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



INSTRUCTOR
DISQUALIFYING CRITERIA

®Reasons instructors are disqualified

©The bureau may deny, suspend, or revoke the
certification of a concealed firearms instructor
if it has reason to believe the applicant has

©Become ineligible to possess a firearm or Utah
concealed firearm permit

©Knowingly and willfully provided false
information to the bureau

©Not possessing a valid Utah CFP


https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53/Chapter5/53-5-S704.html
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APPEALS PROCESS

©In the event of a denial, suspension or
revocation by BCI, the applicant or instructor
may file an appeal
©The appeal must be received in writing and

within 60 days of the date of denial, suspension,
or revocation

©The petitioner will have the opportunity to
address the board and explain the appeal

O®Petitioner is not required to appear before the board

®Once a ruling is made by the board, the petitioner
will be notified by BCI within 30 days



CFP REVIEW BOARD

®Concealed Firearm Review Board
®Five members

© Appointed by the DPS Commissioner and
serve a four year term

©The board shall include a member
representing law enforcement and at least two
citizens, one of whom represents sporting
interests

©The board meets quarterly


https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53/Chapter5/53-5-S703.html




INVESTIGATOR INTRODUCTION

®©Sergeant Brady Zaugg

®Law enforcement experience, 18+ years
©Utah Highway Patrol
©Utah Department of Corrections

®Bachelor of Science Degree in Emergency
Services Administration from Utah Valley
University




UTAH PROVISIONAL PERMITS

©®For qualitied individuals 18 to 20 years old
© Same qualifications as standard permit
© Expires on 215 birthday
© Must apply for full permit at 21
©® Prohibited from carrying in
elementary/secondary schools
©® Non-resident applicant rules apply
© Recognition/Non-recognition

© Does the applicant’s state even offer a provisional
permit?


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Schools are public schools only and college level only.  Does not allow you to carry k-12.
Recognition/nonrecognition – refer to bci’s web site.
It’s up to the applicant to see if your state offers a provisional permit.  Our web site is a good starting point, but you may want to contact your state before spending the money to apply.


PROVISIONAL PERMIT FAQS

© Can a provisional permit holder carry a firearm
in schools?

©No. UCA § 53-5-710(2), specifically excludes an under
21 permit holder from carrying a concealed firearm
on or about school premises.
©® Can a provisional permit holder purchase a
handgun from a firearm dealer?

©No. Per 18 USC § 922(b)(1) a person under 21 may not
purchase a handgun from a federal firearm licensee.


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Reiterate that this refers to k-12 only.  The permit allows the holder to carry in college level public schools.

The provisional permit doesn’t change federal law, which prohibits sale of handguns to <18.


PROVISIONAL PERMIT FAQS

©® Can I take the concealed permit class and apply

for the provisional permit betore my 18th
birthday?

© Applicants may take the class at 17, but same one
year application limit applies.

®How do [ upgrade to a standard permit?

©The provisional permit expires on the permit holder’s
21st birthday. A complete application, including
fingerprints, photo, and fees must be submitted for a
standard permit. The only exception is the class
requirement which may be satistied by including a
copy of the provisional permit.


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
A person could take the class the day after their 17th birthday, then wait and submit their application on their 18th birthday (or up to 60 days before their 18th)  If it is sent prior to 60 days before their birthday, the application will be returned.


PROVISIONAL DISCLAIMER

©® DPS/BCI continues to verify the
recognition status with other states

® However, as with all laws it is the
responsibility of the individual to
understand and comply with all
applicable laws of the jurisdiction in
question


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
If you have a question, contact the agency that issues permits in your home state.


UTAH LEGAL ISSUES

®Some Topics for discussion
©®Detinitions associated with use of force laws

©®Ideas and explanations common to use of force
statutes

©Use of and justification of force in Utah law
©Statutes which most directly relate to CFPs

®Secured Areas and travel issues
®Issues and considerations for CFP holders


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Secured areas are places like airports, post offices, federal buildings, courts.


BODILY INJURY
SERIOUS VS. SUBSTANTIAL

©®Serious bodily injury creates or causes
serious permanent distfigurement, protracted
loss or impairment of function of any bodily
member or organ, or creates a substantial risk

of death

®©Substantial bodily injury that creates or
causes protracteg physical pain, temporary
disfigurement, or temporary loss or
impairment of the function of any bodily
member or organ.



Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Serious is worse than substantial.  Substantial is temporary, where serious is permanent.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter1/76-1-S101.5.html?v=C76-1-S101.5_2022050420220504

FORCIBLE FELONIES

©Commonality is force against persons

®Examples include: aggravated assault, mayhem,
aggravated murder, murder, manslaughter,
kidnapping, and aggravated kidnapping, rape,
forcible sodomy, rape ot a child, object rape,
object rape of a child, sexual abuse of a child,
aggravated sexual abuse of a child, and
aggravated sexual assault, arson, robbery,
burglary, occupied vehicle burglary, offenses
which create substantial risk of death/s.b.i.


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Can use lethal force to stop these crimes.  Burglary can be tricky.  Guy stealing TV, runs away, owner shoots at him as he runs down the road.  Crime was committed, but is not currently being committed.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter2/76-2-S402.html

FIREARMS AT A RESIDENCE

©®In the State of Utah, a person® may have a
loaded firearm at his/her residence

®An improvement to real property used or
occupied as a primary, secondary, or
temporary residence
©Camp, tent, trailer, motor home, motel room, etc.

®Permit-less carry will be covered in greater detail
later on

©® *non-restricted person


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Non-restricted person is someone who can legally buy and possess a firearm.

Doesn’t have to be your property, just as long as you are legally there, it is considered your temporary or permanent residence.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter10/76-10-S511.html

CRIMINAL VS CIvIL LIABILITY

®Criminal

©The burden of proof on the state is
"beyond a reasonable doubt.”

©®Liability determined for criminal punishment,
prison, fines etc.

©Civil
©The burden of proof on the party asserting the

claim is by the
“preponderance of the evidence.”

©Liability determined to restore monetary or
physical loss.


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
You can be acquitted criminally, but still liable civilly.  Information to keep in mind.


DEFENSE TO CIVIL ACTION

©Utah law protects the user of force from
civil actions from next-of-kin, heirs, etc.
if acting within the law
®Entered property with criminal intent, or

©Injury/damage occurred during commission of a
crime

®Doesn’t apply if actions weren't a crime or


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
If you are not charged with a crime, you cannot be held civilly liable.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78B/Chapter3/78B-3-S110.html

DEFENSE OF A PERSON

®Must reasonably believe force is necessary

®Defend against imminent use of unlawful force

®May use force intended or likely to cause
death or serious bodily injury

© If used to prevent death, serious bodily injury, or
a forcible felony

®No duty to retreat if lawtully there


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
May have to prove that force was the only viable option.

(Don’t mention “stand your ground” or “castle” law)

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter2/76-2-S402.html

DEFENSE OF HABITATION

© Reasonable belief force is needed to stop
entry or attack on habitation

©Entry is violent, tumultuous, or by stealth

©With the purpose of assault or personal
violence or commission of a felony


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Define “violent, tumultuous, or by stealth”.  Kicking door down, shoving your way in, pretending to be UPS, etc.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter2/76-2-S405.html

DEFENSE OF HABITATION

®User of force is presumed reasonable if

©Acted out of reasonable fear of imminent peril
©If the entry was unlawtul and used force or

® Violent, tumultuous, by stealth, or to commuit
a felony

©Applies to both criminal and civil cases


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Have to prove to the courts or the responding officer.  Your actions were “reasonable” and that you believed that you were in “imminent peril”.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter2/76-2-S405.html

DEFENSE ON REAL PROPERTY

®This is defense of persons on real property
©® Same basic elements as defense of habitation

©Reasonable/Imminent/Unlawful trespass/Violent/etc.
®©Must be in lawful possession of real property

© Real Property generally refers to land, structures,
etc.

©Same presumption of reasonableness

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Again, must be able to prove to responding officer and/or court that your actions are reasonable.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter2/76-2-S407.html

DEFENSE OF PROPERTY

®Force, other than deadly force

©®© Reasonably believes force is necessary to
prevent or terminate criminal interference
©Property lawtully in his possession
©The possession of an immediate family member

©Possession of another whose property he has a
legal duty to protect


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Hold them down until the police get there.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter2/76-2-S406.html

ARREST BY PRIVATE PERSONS

©® Arrests may be made for
©Public offense committed in your presence

©®© Reasonable cause to believe the person has
committed a felony

®Should you make an arrest or should you
be a good witness?

®Necessary use of force?
©ldentitiable by responding law enforcement?


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Just because you can, doesn’t mean that it’s your best option.  Sometimes it is more beneficial to be a good witness.

If you’re standing there holding a gun when the police arrive, do the police know that you’re the “good guy”?

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title77/Chapter7/77-7-S3.html

DETERMINING REASONABLENESS

®Some things a court may consider
®Nature of danger
©Immediacy of danger

®Probability that unlawtul force would result
in death or serious bodily injury

®Prior violent acts or propensities
©Patterns ot abuse or violence


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Prior violent acts by aggressor.  Example: a domestic violence incident where one partner has been violent for years.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter2/76-2-S402.html

UNJUSTIFIABLE CIRCUMSTANCES

® Provokes the use of force as an excuse to
inflict harm

©Committing or fleeing the commission of
a felony
®Force to facilitate the crime or the escape
®Engaged in mutual combat

®Unless he withdraws and effectively
communicates intent to withdraw


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
If you are committing a felony, you are not justified in “defending” yourself.  Bank robber comes out of a bank, confronted by police, shoots at the police, they fire back, he “defends himself”.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter2/76-2-S402.html

UNJUSTIFIABLE CIRCUMSTANCES

©Unjustified and unlawtul force used against
someone:

® Assault

© Attempt or act that causes or risks bodily injury to
another

®©Aggravated Assault

© Attempt, threat, or act that causes or risks bodily injury
to another and includes use of a dangerous weapon

®Threat of Violence

©Threatens and acts with intent to place a person in
imminent fear of injury or death



SECURE/ PROHIBITED AREAS

®Concealed permit holders may not carry
firearms into these areas:

®Secure facilities (court, law enforcement,
correctional, and mental health facilities)

®Posted notices

®House of worship or private residence where

prohibited

® Any airport secure area

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53/Chapter5/53-5-S710.html

PROHIBITION NOTIFICATION

©®If notification has been given per statute, a
person may not carry a concealed firearm
into houses of worship, private residences,
private businesses r

®Personal communication N D T’ E E

®©Posting of signs ':m\?vEEADR{)d:
® Announcement PREMISES E

A

N

®Publication in newspaper, newsletter,
bulletin, etc.


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
These are the ways that you can notify people.  Can be charged with trespassing.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter10/76-10-S530.html

OTHER PROHIBITIONS

®Federal Facilities

© A building or part thereof owned or leased by
the Federal Government, where Federal
employees are regularly present for the purpose
of performing their official duties

®Native American Reservations

© Obtain permission through tribal leadership
©® Not applicable to highways passing through

®National Parks/National Forests
© Must abide by laws of state where park is located


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
You can carry in National Parks, but local laws may place restrictions on how and where.  Can’t go into buildings like visitor center, gift shops, etc.  Federal building where federal employees work or are regularly present.


TRAVELING WITH FIREARMS

® General

© State laws regarding the possession of firearms vary.
ALWAYS consider your travel mode, route, and
destination and understand state requirements before
traveling.

® Air Travel

®Never attempt to travel with firearms in your carry-
on luggage!
©Criminal intent or negligence/forgettulness do not matter.
© Best Fractice is to always “unpack before you
pack!”
©® Ensure your luggage and clothing are clear of any
firearms or ammunition.

® Never use a range bag for a travel bag.



TRAVELING WITH FIREARMS

© Firearms and ammunition are ONLY accepted as
checked baggage and must be declared to an agent at
check in.

© Firearms must be transported unloaded and in a locked,
hard-sided container.

© Most airlines do not accept firearms to be checked
curbside.

© TSA provides a number of resources to assist you:
blog.tsa.gov
www.tsa.gov
www.tsa.gov/travel/security-screening/prohibited-items

©®© Always check with the TSA, specific airport, and
airline you're traveling with for exact rules and
procedures.


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Check with airline, airport, and state you are visiting to make sure that you are aware of all laws and policies that may apply.


TRAVELING WITH FIREARMS

Firearms Discovered at
®FEach year TSA Checkpoints in 2022

approximately

6000 armed travelers

are caught by TSA. e 260 | . o M:)
b

Top 10 Airports
for Firearm Discoveries

. Number of Firearm _ N %&3. @ 2
©2022 TSA Firearms Discoveries & e
= o FLL
Found |

n 8 il |

6542 tirearms discovered in o =
carry-on bags nationwide and JH5 8|8/u

5}_ m paded

88% were loaded HEEEEEE LR

Wisit the TSA website for details on how to properhy travel with a firearm.



INVESTIGATOR INTRODUCTION

©Agent Jett Heslop

© Bureau of Criminal Identification Firearms Investigator

©Utah Peace Officer Standards and Training (P.O.S.T.)
Certified Firearms Instructor

®Utah Concealed Firearms Permit Certified Instructor
©Bail Bonds/Enforcement Investigator = '

©Law Enforcement Experience, 16+ years

©Utah Highway Patrol
OSERT Team




WEAPONS LAWS



UNIFORM WEAPON LAW

© Except as specifically provided by state law,
no one is...

© Prohibited from owning, possessing, purchasing,
selling, transferring, transporting, or keeping any
firearm in his place of residence, property, business, or
in any vehicle lawfully in his possession or lawfully
under his control; or

©® No permit or license required to purchase, own,
possess, transport, or keep a firearm

© No requirement to register firearms with the State of
Utah


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Utah’s version of the second Amendment.  There are no “pistol permits” in Utah.  No registry.  Brady gets calls every day from people moving in from out of state that want to register their firearms.  Not a bad idea to call to make sure, but Utah has no requirement and no registry.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter10/76-10-S500.html

OPEN CARRY LAW

©® Without a CFP: Open carry still exists but
permit-less carry has, more or less,
superseded it. A non-restricted person 21
years old can carry a loaded firearm on a

public street with a few exceptions. E !

©® With CFP: ability to open carry or have ,,
concealed fully loaded

© Number of weapons and weapon type not specific



Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
People open carrying in front of businesses.  It is legal to open carry, but now it must be holstered or in a hard case, not just slung across your back.  Footnote: officers are explicitly allowed to approach people and ask what they’re doing.
If you have a CFP, you can have your firearm loaded.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter9/76-9-S102.html

OPEN CARRY LAW

©All weapons have to be holstered or encased
as of 2014. Amended Disorderly Conduct

Statute

© Example: No more just open carry “slung” long guns

tif



Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
People open carrying in front of businesses.  It is legal to open carry, but now it must be holstered or in a hard case, not just slung across your back.  Footnote: officers are explicitly allowed to approach people and ask what they’re doing.
If you have a CFP, you can have your firearm loaded.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter9/76-9-S102.html

WEAPONS LAw
THREATENING MANNER

©® Threatening manner does not include:

© The possession of a dangerous weapon, whether visible or
concealed, without additional behavior which is
threatening

© May place hand on weapon while holstered and advise the
possession of the weapon and to verbally disengage from
the confrontation

© Drawing your weapon without justification would be
considered threatening behavior

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Mere possession of a weapon, even open carrying, does not constitute threatening behavior or a threatening manner.  Moving your hand to the weapon (but not un-holstering) also doesn’t constitute a threatening manner.  Drawing the weapon without justification crosses the line into “threatening manner”.  If you don’t have justification to fire the weapon, don’t draw the weapon. (Check to make sure this isn’t over-stating)

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter10/76-10-S506.html

VEHICLES/ STREETS




LOADED FIREARM
VEHICLE OR STREET

® No CFP while in vehicle:

© Applies to handguns only: can have statutorily
loaded or unloaded, concealed or not concealed

©Person is 18 years or older
©Is in lawful possession of the vehicle
®Not a restricted person

©® No CFP on public street:

©Non-restricted person 21 years old
®May carry a loaded, concealed firearm


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
We’ll talk about rifles in a couple of slides
Must be 18 or older because you must be 18 to carry a handgun. (Check to make sure)
Lawful possession of the vehicle, not necessarily the owner of the vehicle.
We will cover statutorily loaded/unloaded in detail in a couple of slides


LOADED FIREARM
VEHICLE OR STREET

® With CFP in Vehicle: Same as non CFP holders
but now you can have loaded long guns.

©® With CFP on Street: Can have as many
handguns and/or rifles/shotguns either
concealed or visible on person and be loaded or
unloaded and encased

® Remember a Utah Concealed Permit does not indicate
how many or what type of firearms can be legally
carried

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
(Without a CFP, can you have an unloaded rifle in your vehicle?)

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter10/76-10-S505.html

CONCEALED WEAPON VIOLATIONS

© No CFP: Recent changes to 76-10-523 caused 76-10-
504(1) and (2) as well as 76-10-505(1)(b) to not apply to
a non-restricted person 21 years or older.

© Concealed weapons violations can still apply

© If caught with concealed “loaded” firearm guilty of class A
misdemeanor

© If caught with unlawfully possessed short barrel shotgun or a
short barrel rifle (class 3 weapons) guilty of a 2nd Degree
felony

© Reminder: Valid permit holders can carry legally owned
firearms fully loaded and concealed


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
If you are legal to possess firearms and the firearm is a legal firearm (not a short barrel shotgun or other illegal weapon), you can carry however you want within your own home, vehicle, business, or vehicle/business that you are in lawful control of.
Without CFP you can have a concealed weapon at your house, property, business or in your vehicle
Class 3 weapons point is regardless of CFP.  They still must be lawfully possessed.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter10/76-10-S504.html

WORKPLACE POLICIES VS. LAwW




PROTECTION OF ACTIVITIES
PRIVATE VEHICLES

© Legal to store firearms in locked vehicles parked on
private property
© Employers may ban firearms on their property but;

© MUST provide alternative parking at no cost to employee, or;

© Provide a secured and monitored storage location where the
individual may securely store a firearm before proceeding with the
vehicle on to the property


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
AOL case law
3 AOL employees were fired for bringing firearms in their vehicles onto the AOL parking lot.
Employees sued AOL for unlawful termination
Utah Supreme Court sided with AOL and said that employers have the right to ban firearms and that extends to parking lots.
Utah Legislature passed law that doesn’t change that, but requires employers to provide alternate parking and transportation to and from the alternate parking, at the employers’ expense or provide a secure and monitored storage location for the firearms, at the employers’ expense.
In light of the new legislative requirements, most employers allow firearms in their parking lots, but there are still requirements for the owners of the firearms
Firearm must be legally possessed/stored
Firearm is locked securely in the vehicle or in a container attached to the vehicle (motorcycles)
Firearm is not in plain view from outside the vehicle

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title34/Chapter45/34-45-S103.html

PROTECTION OF ACTIVITIES
PRIVATE VEHICLES

© Exemptions to private parking lots “
©® School premises ﬁ

® Governmental entities

© Religious organizations-acting as employer

£~= POST OFFICE



Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
AOL case law
3 AOL employees were fired for bringing firearms in their vehicles onto the AOL parking lot.
Employees sued AOL for unlawful termination
Utah Supreme Court sided with AOL and said that employers have the right to ban firearms and that extends to parking lots.
Utah Legislature passed law that doesn’t change that, but requires employers to provide alternate parking and transportation to and from the alternate parking, at the employers’ expense or provide a secure and monitored storage location for the firearms, at the employers’ expense.
In light of the new legislative requirements, most employers allow firearms in their parking lots, but there are still requirements for the owners of the firearms
Firearm must be legally possessed/stored
Firearm is locked securely in the vehicle or in a container attached to the vehicle (motorcycles)
Firearm is not in plain view from outside the vehicle

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title34/Chapter45/34-45-S103.html

WEAPONS LAWS
EXEMPT PERSONS

©® Concealed Weapon Act restrictions do not apply to
any of the following:

© US Marshal, or any federal official required to carry a
firearm

©® Peace Officer of this or any other jurisdiction
©® Law Enforcement Official or Judge as defined and qualified
©® FFL Dealer engaged in regular business

©® Non-Utah resident traveling through state, provided all
firearms are unloaded and securely encased


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Judges and police officers often obtain a CFP so they can carry off-duty (Check to make sure)
(Last point, if the firearms are unloaded and encased, aren’t they in compliance with Utah law anyway?)

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter10/76-10-S523.html

LAW ENFORCEMENT CONTACT

®Persons are not required in Utah to notity
Law Enforcement about CFP

©Utah residents: CFP status is on DL history
when checked by police and is available to
out-of-state law enforcement upon request
®Encourage all individuals with or without
CFP to be cooperative and comply with all
lawtul orders from police officers

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
You are not required to notify law enforcement that you have a CFP and/or are carrying, but that doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t.  


https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title77/Chapter7/77-7-S15.html

LAW ENFORCEMENT CONTACT

©® Law enforcement advised to only keep and mail
back CFP cards to BCI for Revoked status

© Applies to resident Utah CFP ONLY!
®Incidents involving a CFP disqualitying offense
violation
©Forward a copy of the incident report to BCI

©® Enforcement action is done by BCI Investigators,
the final review and findings are done by the

CFP board

© Common example: Mental health, Suicides


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Revoked, not suspended.  Suspended means we are still investigating. (Check to make sure)


DISCHARGE OF FIREARM
PRIVATE PROPERTY - LIABILITY

©® A private property owner who knowingly allows
a person who has a permit to carry a concealed
firearm under Section 53-5-704 to bring a firearm
onto the owner’s property, is not civilly or
criminally liable for any damage or harm resulting
from the discharge of the firearm by the permit
holder while on the owner’s property.

©® Civilly or Criminally Liable if property owner
solicits, requests, commands, encourages, or


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
No liability unless the owner solicits, requests, commands, encourages the stupidity.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53/Chapter5A/53-5a-S103.html

EXCEPTION

©®Is civilly or criminally Liable if property owner
solicits, requests, commands, encourages, or
intentionally aids in the firearms discharge



Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
No liability unless the owner solicits, requests, commands, encourages the stupidity.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53/Chapter5A/53-5a-S103.html

ALCOHOL/ CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE
VIOLATIONS

®Violation to carry dangerous weapon
while under the influence of alcohol and
or a controlled substance

®Class B Misdemeanor
®Not a Defense:

®Has a valid concealed firearm permit
®Licensed in the pursuit of hunting

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Just needs to be impaired.
(Find out what CFP holders are responsible to do when they are hunting, are done for the day, and want to have a drink.  Encase the firearm?  Stored?)

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter10/76-10-S528.html

FIREARMS CONFISCATION
PROHIBITION

©State of Emergency or Disaster:

©® Government and law enforcement may not
confiscate firearms if lawful to possess

©Oftficers may not be disciplined for refusing to
confiscate

®Law Enforcement and government

. N STATE
may be sub]ect to C1V11 damages _EM E RDGFE NCY

Zles]

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Hurricane Katrina.  This is one instance where insubordination is protected by law.  Law enforcement officers may be civilly liable for following orders.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title53/Chapter2A/53-2a-S214.html

FEDERAL LAWS



FEDERAL FIREARM REGULATIONS

©Title 18 Chapter 44 - 922 Unlawtul acts

® Straw Purchase

©Unlawtul transport ot firearm by non-licensed
dealer, importer , manufacturer, or collector

®Unlawful transfer of a firearm to restricted
person

©Unlawful possession of a firearm by restricted
person

®Unlawtul possession of a firearm in a school
zone


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Quickly define straw purchase
Go into detail on the next slide
Unlawful transport gets its own slide in a minute
(Get definition or examples of unlawful transfer to a restricted person.  There is no requirement (or ability) to perform a background check, so how do I know if I am transferring to a restricted person in a private sale?)


“STRAW” FIREARM PURCHASE

©Knowingly make or furnish a false or
fictitious oral or written statement or
misrepresented identification intending to
deceive with respect to purchasing a
firearm.



Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Attempting to purchase for someone who is a restricted person.
It may be a good idea to go with someone and let them pick out the firearm, then pay for it if it is a gift.  That way, the background check is done on the right person.



TRANSPORTING FIREARMS

®Interstate transportation of a firearm for
lawtul purpose is allowed if:
©The transporter is not a restricted person
©The firearm is not restricted
©Only FFLs may transport to engage in business
®Firearm must be unloaded

®© Ammunition and firearm not readily accessible or
directly accessible from the passenger compartment
unless in a locked container excluding glove box or
console


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
(Private sales not allowed if sold out of state?)


FEDERAL FIREARM
PROHIBITORS



FELONIES

© Conviction punishable by term exceeding one year
© Not just felonies
©® Includes pending felonies



Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Felonies
Not just explicitly stated felonies.  Some states have “gross misdemeanors” (or other terminology) where the “misdemeanor” crime is punishable by more than one year.  Those convictions make the person restricted.


CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE USE

® Unlawful user of controlled substance

©®Possession (illegal) is a one year disqualifier even it
case is dismissed or found not guilty

©Medical Marijuana cards currently create issues with
firearm possession



Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Admitted possession or use or a failed drug test restricts a person for one year, regardless of the final outcome of the case.


DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

® Conviction of misdemeanor crime of domestic
violence (MCDV)

® Misdemeanor

© No infractions

®Felony DV would be denied as a felony
® Crimes

© Must be a conviction
®© Domestic

© “Intimate partner” as defined by the FBI

® Violence

® Must involve an element of force


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
MCDV
BCI researches to make sure that all letters of the acronym meet.
Misdemeanor
Felonies are already prohibited as a crime punishable my more than one year
Crimes
Must be a conviction
Domestic
Must be a relationship defined by the FBI
Child
Intimate partner
Cohabitant
Spouse or former spouse
Violence
Element of force


ADJUDICATED MENTALLY
DEFECTIVE

©® Adjudicated mentally defective

© Prohibited for life, even with rights restored and or
expunged
©Exceptions: Voluntary admits, in mental institution for

observation/evaluation. Received ATF relief from disabilities
under 18 U.S.C 478.144.



Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Adjudicated mentally defective.  Referred by law enforcement, entered by court.  Very specific process.


PROTECTIVE ORDER

® Protective order
©Utah protective orders are non expiring
® Has to have an element of cohabitation

®Restraining orders (neighbors), stalking injunctions, etc. are
not prohibitors



Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Not all protective orders are prohibitors


ADDITIONAL FEDERAL
PROHIBITORS

© Illegally or unlawtully in the U.S.
©® Dishonorable discharge from the armed forces

©® Renounced U.S. citizenship


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
BCI does an ICE query to determine immigration status.  Delays firearm purchases, but usually only a couple of hours.
Dishonorable discharge and renounced citizenship are extremely rare, but would restrict a person.


FEDERAL FIREARM PROHIBITORS

Illegal or unlawtully in the U.S.
Dishonorable discharge from the armed forces
Renounced U.S. citizenship

OMOMONO,

Protective order
© Utah protective orders are non expiring.
® Has to have element of cohabitation

®Restraining orders (neighbors), stalking injunctions, etc. are
not prohibitors

® Conviction of misdemeanor crime of domestic
violence (MCDV)

©® Pending Felony Charges


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
BCI does an ICE query to determine immigration status.  Delays firearm purchases, but usually only a couple of hours.
Dishonorable discharge and renounced citizenship are extremely rare, but would restrict a person.
Protective orders
Must meet certain conditions
MCDV
BCI researches to make sure that all letters of the acronym meet.
Misdemeanor
Felonies are already prohibited as a crime punishable my more than one year
Crimes
Must be a conviction
Domestic
Must be a relationship defined by the FBI
Child
Intimate partner
Cohabitant
Spouse or former spouse
Violence
Element of force
Pending felony charges (do we suspend or revoke on pending charges?)


FIREARMS ON SCHOOL PREMISES

© Unlawtul to possess a firearm at a place that the
individual knows, or has reasonable cause to
believe, is a school zone

© Exception: If the individual possessing the firearm is
licensed to do so by the State in which the school zone
is located
©®Public schools: A valid concealed firearm permit
holder can possess a firearm within a public
school

©Private schools can restrict firearms (similar to private
property owners)


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Private schools can make their own rules.  Utah CFP holders may carry concealed in public schools.


FIREARMS ON SCHOOL PREMISES

©Exceptions:
®Law Enforcement
@ Utah Concealed Firearm Permit Holder

©The possession is approved by the responsible
school administrator; for a lawful approved
activity and is in the possession or control of the
responsible person

®In any vehicle lawfully under the person’s control

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Cops, Utah CFP holder, school administrator (clarify) or in your car

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter10/76-10-S505.5.html

SELLING FIREARMS

© Cannot sell to anyone outside your state of
residency

© Exception, Utah residents can sell firearm to active
duty military personnel stationed in Utah
®©Must have duty orders-PCS Orders

® No registration required
©Only transactions at the FFL dealership are registered

© Cannot sell to anyone under 18 years of age

®Suggest that a non-licensed sale include a bill of
sale between parties to prove the transter


Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Out of state sales must go through FFLs
FFL firearm transaction registrations are through the ATF.  BCI does not maintain a registry.  We are required to maintain firearm denials and notify law enforcement of denials.


YOUR RESPONSIBILITY

©®It is the responsibility of each instructor
and/or permit holder to keep up with
changes in Federal law, Utah law, and
Administrative rules.

Remember Laws Change!!



ONLINE REFERENCES

©BCI Website
®bci.utah.gov

®Utah Criminal and Traffic Codes
®le.utah.gov




BCIl INFORMATION

©Physical address/mailing address:

Bureau of Criminal Identification
4315 South 2700 West
Taylorsville, UT 84129

(801) 965-4445

dpstirearms@utah.gov



BCIl INFORMATION

®Contacts:

© Sgt. Brady Zaugg
Investigations Supervisor
801-281-5011

© Agent Jetf Heslop
© Firearms Investigator
© (801) 281-5053

© Mindy Lindquist
© Criminal Compliance Specialist
© (801) 281-5064

© Agent Colby Vanderbeek
© Firearms Investigator
© (801) 281-5069



QUESTIONS?
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