

State of Utah Department of Public Safety VOLUNTARY TEMPORARY FIREARMS RESTRICTION



INSTRUCTIONS

Requester Instructions

- 1. Print Request for Voluntary Temporary Firearm Restriction List (this form)
- 2. Please fill out <u>all fields</u> on the form on the following page.
- 3. Select which restricted list you wish to be added to.
 - a Time-limited (180 days)
 - i May request removal 30 days after inclusion. You will be removed 3 business days after request is submitted.
 - b Indefinite
 - i May request removal 90 days after inclusion. You will be removed 3 business days after request is submitted.
- 4. Be sure to sign the acknowledgement at the bottom of the form.
- 5. Take the completed form to any Utah law enforcement agency for transmittal to the Bureau of Criminal Identification. You must provide this form to law enforcement in person.

Extension/Removal From Voluntary Temporary Firearm Restriction List

- 1. After 180 days, removal from the Time-Limited Restriction list is automatic. If you wish to remain on the list for longer than 180 days, please request a 180-day extension using this form. An extension may be requested at any Utah law enforcement agency.
- 2. If you wish to be removed from the Voluntary Temporary Firearm Restricted List prior to 180 days, you will need to submit a Request for Removal From The Voluntary Temporary Firearm Restriction List found on bei.utah.gov. Note that if you wish to be removed from the temporary restriction list, you must wait at least 30 days. Early removal from the indefinite list may be requested after 90 days.

Law Enforcement Instructions

- 1. Verify the requester's identity. The requester must submit the form in person.
- 2. Enter the information from this form into UCJIS via the RY transaction, selecting the "enter" option. BCI will enter the requester onto the Voluntary Temporary Firearms Restricted List within 24 hours.
- 3. Retain the original form for your records.
- 4. If an extension is not requested, all forms and copies of forms must be destroyed within five days of automatic removal from the Voluntary Temporary Firearms Restricted List.
- 5. If early removal from the Voluntary Temporary Firearms Restricted List is requested, all forms must be destroyed within five days of removal.



State of Utah Department of Public Safety

REQUEST FOR INCLUSION IN THE VOLUNTARY TEMPORARY FIREARMS RESTRICTION LIST

Please read all instructions on the previous page prior to completing this form.

Name			Date of Birth	
(Last) (Please print full name as it appears on your driver li	(First) icense or state issued ID card)	(Middle)		
Previously used Name(S)(Maiden, etc.)				
Physical Address(Street)	(City)	(County)	(State)	
Daytime Phone#Alt		,	,	(1 /
Initial by the restriction list you wish to be added to, then sign the corresponding statement below.				
Time-limited (You can request removal after 30 days. You will be automatically removed after 180 days)				
Indefinite (yeu can request removal after 00 days. You will not be automatically removed.)				
Indefinite (you can request removal after 90 days. You will not be automatically removed.)				
Time Limited Restriction Statement:				
By presenting this completed form to a law enforcement agency, I understand that I am requesting that my name be placed on a list that restricts my ability to purchase or possess firearms for a minimum of 30 days, and up to 6 months. I understand that by voluntarily making myself a temporarily restricted person, I may not have a firearm in my possession and any attempt to purchase a firearm while I am on the list will be declined. I also understand that any time after 30 days, I may request removal from the temporary restricted list and all previous rights will be restored.				
In addition, if I am in possession of a valid concealed firearm permit, my permit will be suspended during the time I am on the list, but will be reinstated upon my removal unless the permit has expired, been revoked, been suspended for another reason, or I become ineligible to possess a firearm. Additionally, I acknowledge that if I possess a firearm or attempt to purchase a firearm while outside Utah, I will be subject to the law of that location regarding restricted persons.				
Signed on: (Date)	(Applicant Signature)			
(Date)	(Applicant Signature)			
Indefinite Restriction Statement:				
By presenting this completed form to a law enforcement agency, I understand that I am requesting that my name be placed on a restricted list that restricts my ability to purchase or possess firearms indefinitely. I understand that by voluntarily making myself a temporarily restricted person, I may not have a firearm in my possession and any attempt to purchase a firearm while I am on the restricted list will be declined. I also understand that any time after 90 days, I may request removal from the restricted list and all previous rights will be restored.				
In addition, if I am in possession of a valid concealed upon my removal, unless the permit has expired, be acknowledge that if I possess a firearm or attempt to	en revoked, been suspended for an	other reason, or I become	ineligible to possess a	firearm. Additionally, I
Signed on:				
(Date)	(Applicant Signature)			

Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification 4315 S 2700 W, Suite 1300, Taylorsville, Utah 84129 801-965-4445