
APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR CERTIFICATE OF ELIGIBILTY 

FOR EARLY REMOVAL OF NAME FROM THE SEX 

OFFENDER,KIDNAP, AND CHILD ABUSE REGISTRY

Enclosed is an application for early removal of name from the sex offender/kidnap registry. Please complete all of the 

steps described below.  Failure to properly complete one of the steps may cause a delay in processing your application. 

1. Fill out the top portion of the application.  List all of your previous names including married and maiden names. Be

sure to read and sign the application.

2. Provide a copy of your valid government-issued photo ID; for example, passport, state ID card, consulate ID card,
or driver license.  “Utah Driving Privilege Cards” WILL NOT be accepted by BCI as valid ID. Utah Driving
Privilege Cards state on them that they are not to be used as ID.  NOTE:  If you do not have a government-
issued ID, go to the following link https://bci.utah.gov/forms/acceptable-forms-of-identification/   to see "Other
acceptable forms of ID".
FINGERPRINTS ARE REQUIRED

3. The application fee is $168.00 and non refundable.  Select a method of payment by making a check mark in the

appropriate box. Checks and money orders must be made payable to “Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification.”  To

pay by credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover or AMEX), please fill out the requested information on the

application.  Credit card numbers must include:  the signature of the cardholder, the 3 or 4 digit control number

located on the back of the card, the expiration date, and the zip code of card billing address.  Cash is accepted only

when applying in person.  DO NOT SEND CASH IN THE MAIL.

4. Your eligibility letter will be mailed to the mailing address indicated on the application form.  If the information

needs to be sent to a third party, the third party release form must be filled out and submitted along with your

application.

5. Mail the application, fee and release form (if applicable) to:

UTAH BUREAU OF CRIMINAL IDENTIFICATION 

4315 South 2700 West, Suite 1300
Taylorsville, Utah 84129 

For criteria or any other questions, please go to our website at https://bci.utah.gov

Last updated 02/25/2025
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APPLICATION FOR EARLY REMOVAL OF NAME 

FROM THE SEX OFFENDER/KIDNAP REGISTRY 
Utah Department of Public Safety • Bureau of Criminal Identification

4315 South 2700 West, Suite 1300, Taylorsville, Utah 84129

WHEN FILLING OUT THIS APPLICATION TYPE OR PRINT IN BLACK INK. Your application will not be processed unless all sections of 

this form are filled out completely and accompanied by a $168.00 non refundable application fee.

 NAME:  DATE OF BIRTH 
(Last Name)   (First Name)       (Middle Name) 

PREVIOUSLY USED NAME(S) (Maiden, AKA, etc.) _______________________________________________________________

MAILING ADDRESS:_________________________________________________________________________________________           
 (Street Name)                                             (City)                                     (State)                (Zip)

SOCIAL SECURITY:______________________ DRIVER LICENSE # AND STATE: _______________________/___________ 

PHONE NUMBER: _____________________________

Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. § 77-40a-301(2)(a) , a petitioner who intentionally or knowingly provides false or misleading information to the bureau 
when applying for a certificate of eligibility is guilty of a class B misdemeanor and subject to prosecution under Section 76-8-504.6. A certification 
ofeligibility or an application for expungement may be denied if the petitioner provides false information under 77-40a-301(2)(b)

I _____________________________, declare under criminal penalty of the State of Utah that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 (Name of Petitioner) 

 ______________________________________ 

 (signature) 

 Executed on:  ___________________________ 

 (Date) 

METHOD OF PAYMENT (Only to be filled out if application is mailed in. Check appropriate box for payment) 

 Check, Money Order or Cashier’s Check (Payable to “BCI”)  There will be a $20.00 service charge for any returned check.

 Credit Card (cannot use foreign credit cards) must be  Visa  Master Card  Discover  AMEX

Fill out the information below to pay by credit card.                                                                   *3 or 4 digit control #   Exp Date  MM/YY 

             
Cardholder signature:__________________________________________________    Zip Code Associated with Credit Card:_____________________ 

FINGERPRINT INSTRUCTIONS: (OFFICIAL TAKING PRINTS) Confirm identity of applicant with identification that shows photo, signature and date of birth.  

Confirm ID with the information above, then list the type of government issued ID used and the ID number in the space provided below.  Fingerprint the four fingers of the 

applicant’s right hand simultaneously in the box located in the lower right portion of this form. 

OFFICIAL TAKING PRINTS 

Type of identification used: 

Utah Driving Privilege Cards are not valid ID and will not be accepted 

Identification number:  

Name on ID: 

Fingerprints taken by: _______________ 
(Print Name) 

Agency Name: Badge # 

 (If applicable) 
Date Printed: 

FINGERPRINTS (REQUIRED) 

BUREAU USE ONLY   AFIS Confirmation 

SID# R&F 

Last updated 02/25/2025




