

# Concealed Firearm Instructor Updates and Reminders

## April 30, 2025

1. The concealed firearm permit application has been updated. The non-resident fee for a concealed firearm permit will be changed to \$87.00 effective May 7<sup>th</sup>, 2025.

# September 18, 2024

2. The minimum training curriculum has been updated. An appendix has been added containing the FBI privacy statement and instructions for challenging a person's own criminal history.

#### August 12, 2020

1. The concealed firearm permit application has been updated. The section pertaining to submitting credit card payment has been changed.

## May 8, 2019

**2.** The minimum training curriculum has been updated. A section pertaining to suicide prevention was added to the end of the curriculum.

# February 25, 2019

#### 1. POTENTIAL FRAUD ALERT

BCI has become aware of scammers contacting instructors trying to do an overpayment scam. The scammer will ask you to accept extra money for your services and then you would give cash back to them or their associate. We would caution anyone if they are contacted about any type of overpayment of your services.

### June 1, 2018

1. On July 1<sup>st</sup> the fingerprint based background check processing fee will be decreased to \$15. This will change the fees due for a Utah concealed firearm permit to \$52 for Utah residents and \$62 for Non-Utah residents. The newest application showing these new fees can be

downloaded <u>here</u> on our website. **Make sure to remind your students the new fees do not take effect until July 1<sup>st</sup>.** Any applications BCI receives before July 1<sup>st</sup> with the new fees will be rejected and mailed back to the applicant.

# February 7, 2018

1. Due to budgetary and resource considerations, the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification is no longer able to mail blank fingerprint cards to Concealed Firearm Permit instructors. Cards may still be picked up in person at the BCI building and local law enforcement agencies may also be able to provide blank cards.

Another available option is to purchase packets of fingerprint cards. They are available through the U.S. Government Bookstore at https://bookstore.gpo.gov/products/sku/027001-00086-6 or through a variety of commercial providers. (Search FD-258 fingerprint cards on Amazon)

## March 30, 2017

1. The Utah Legislature recently passed <u>HB0198</u> which allows 18 year old to 20 year olds to apply for a Provisional Concealed Firearm Permit. BCI can start accepting these applications on May 9, 2017. Information on this new law can be found <u>here</u> on our website. To coincide with this new permit an updated application is available on the BCI website to download. If the applicant is applying for Provisional Concealed Firearm Permit or a Concealed Firearm Permit the same application will be used.

## September 19, 2016

1. On October 1, the application fees will change. The Utah resident concealed firearm permit application fee will be \$37.00. The non-resident concealed firearm permit application fee will be \$47.00. Please discard all old/outdated applications, using only the current application. The minimum training curriculum has been updated to reflect the new application fees.

# July 6, 2016

- 1. Nevada now honors the Utah concealed firearm permit. The minimum training curriculum has been updated to reflect the change.
- 2. The concealed firearm permit application has been updated with non-substantive changes and posted on the website. Please download the newest version and start using as soon as possible.

# May 12, 2016

1. On or about May 15, 2016, BCI will be making changes to the design of the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit card. All cards issued after May 15 will include new features. All cards issued

prior to May 15 will continue to be valid until the expiration date listed on the card. To view an example of the new card please follow this link.

## **December 10, 2015**

1. Maine now honors the Utah concealed firearm permit. The minimum training curriculum has been updated to reflect the change.

# August 12, 2015

1. Effective August 11, 2015 Minnesota no longer honors the Utah concealed firearm permit.

# June 9, 2015

1. The concealed firearm permit application has been updated with non-substantive changes and posted on the website.

# April 8, 2015

- 2. The application fees have recently changed. The Utah resident concealed firearm permit application fee is \$39.00. The non-resident concealed firearm permit application fee is \$49.00. Please discard all old/outdated applications, using only the current application. The minimum training curriculum has been updated to reflect the new application fees.
- 3. Individuals who attend the Utah concealed firearm instructor course taught by the Bureau of Criminal Identification Staff are required by statute to complete a test at the completion of the course. Starting April 2015, attendees will be required to take a closed book thirty five question test and score at least an 80% in order to pass the course.

#### June 26, 2014

1. The minimum training curriculum has been updated. Pennsylvania now has a formal reciprocity agreement with the State of Utah. Please follow this link to Pennsylvania's website to read the specific details regarding the agreement. Reciprocity Agreement

As a general reminder, it is the responsibility of all Utah concealed firearm permit holders to know and understand the applicable firearm laws of the states within which they plan to visit or venture. For information regarding firearm laws of other states, please contact the respective authority within that state.

2. Starting July 1, 2014 the application fee for in state applicants will drop to \$41.00. The fee of \$51.00 for out of state applicants will not change.

#### May 13, 2014

1. As a reminder, when printing out the initial application for your students, please also print out the instruction page that correlates with the application.

- 2. The Minimum Training Curriculum has been updated. The changes are: an update to the list of states Utah has recognition with and also language was added regarding airport travel as it relates to firearms and other weapons along with minor grammar changes.
- 3. As of May 12, 2014 Pennsylvania no longer recognizes the Utah concealed firearm permit.
- **4.** As a reminder when teaching the Utah concealed firearm permit course in conjunction with another state permit, make sure that <u>all</u> topics contained within the minimum training curriculum are covered. This includes all applicable Utah laws, the permit disqualifying criteria, etc.

## July 10, 2013

1. The state of Kansas has been added as a state that recognizes Utah's permit. The Minimum Training Curriculum and the DPS website have been updated to reflect the change.

As a reminder, it is the responsibility of all Utah concealed firearm permit holders to know and understand the applicable firearm laws of the states within which they reside and or plan to visit or venture. For information regarding firearm laws of other states, please contact the respective authority within that state.

# May 15, 2013

1. The Minimum Training Curriculum has been updated to reflect the update Utah state statutes. The state statutes affected are: 53-5-702, 53-5-704, 53-5-707, and 53-5-708.

# April 1, 2013

- 1. The application for a Utah Concealed Firearm permit has been updated and can be downloaded from the BCI website, look under the 'Forms and Applications' section.
- 2. Recently BCI has seen a great increase in the number of concealed firearm permit applications being submitted. As recently as a few months ago we were receiving on average 1,500 applications a week. Currently our average is 5,000 applications a week. BCI is taking measures to process this increase in applications by working overtime and hiring more employees but there are things you as an instructor can do to help also.

Whenever someone calls into BCI with a question the employees that answer the phones are the same employees trying to process the applications and issue the permits. The more phone calls we receive slows down the processing time of the applications. Please tell your students that it is currently taking 3 weeks to process their payment and then another 60 days before their permit will be issued. If the applicant can watch their credit card account or checking account to see when their payment went through and then add another 60 days to that, this will give them an idea of when to expect their permit. Please ask them to not call BCI before this time line has lapsed. There is nothing we can tell them about their application; they just need to wait the time.

Also applicants can use our dpsfirearms@utah.gov email address to ask questions or see where their permit is after the above mentioned timeline has lapsed.

# August 30, 2012

- 1. Permit holders can renew in person, by mail and <u>NOW</u> may also renew online. To renew online, go to <a href="https://secure.utah.gov/concealed-firearms">https://secure.utah.gov/concealed-firearms</a>. There is a \$0.75 convenience fee to renew over the internet. Permit holders will need the capability to upload a passport quality photo and a copy of his/her own states concealed firearm permit or concealed weapon permit, if applicable.
- 2. The Minimum Training Curriculum has been updated. A section on how to renew the Utah concealed firearm permit has been added (page 46).

# July 30, 2012

1. Its come to our attention that there's a possible scam targeting Utah concealed firearm permit instructors. Be careful. If it doesn't seem right, it probably isn't. In your correspondences with the individual requesting training, you should not have to provide your personal financial information, provide a form of payment, etc.

# April 2, 2012

1. The Minimum Training Curriculum has been updated to reflect the application fee changes.

# March 22, 2012

1. The new fees are official. The Utah State Legislature changed the state portion of our fee along with the FBI making their change. After taking both into account the new fees will be as of April 1, \$46.00 for in-state applicants and \$51.00 for out-of-state applicants. The new application has been uploaded to the BCI website. You can also find it by clicking this link: http://publicsafety.utah.gov/bci/documents/CFPapp0312.pdf

# January 31, 2012

1. Effective <u>April 1, 2012</u> the FBI fingerprint-based background check fee will change. This will affect the concealed firearm permit application fee. The current fee is \$60.00 for in-state applicants and \$65.00 for out-of-state applicants. <u>The new fee will be \$46.25 for in-state applicants and \$51.25 for out-of-state applicants</u>. A letter will be mailed out shortly to all valid instructors explaining in more detail the changes and reasoning.

Please be advised that an additional fee change is being considered before the Utah State Legislature. If any additional changes occur, you will be notified of that change.

2. Reminder: Please make sure your students complete the concealed firearm permit application prior to you signing, dating and stamping it. This will avoid some of the confusion some students seem to be having.

# November 1, 2011

- 1. The state of Wisconsin has announced they will recognize the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit. This recognition starts today, November 1, 2011. The BCI website has been updated to reflect this new information. Starting today, November 1, any application BCI receives from a resident of Wisconsin must have a copy of their Wisconsin CCW or CFP with their application. If the copy of their Wisconsin CCW or CFP is not included with the application, the application will be rejected and mailed back to the applicant.
- 2. The minimum training curriculum has also been updated, adding Wisconsin as a recognition state.

## September 9, 2011

1. The concealed firearm permit application has been updated and placed on BCI's website. Please discard all old applications and start using the new one. The new applications reflect BCI's new zip code and business hours. Click the link to go to the new application.

#### June 8, 2011

1. Effective July 1, 2011 the Zip Code for BCI's physical address will be changed to 84129. All forms and applications will be updated to reflect the change.

# June 6, 2011

1. With the passage of First Substitute HB 257, any applications that BCI receives on or after June 1st will have their permit suspended if BCI does not receive sufficient fingerprints for the FBI to process. If the applicant's fingerprints are rejected, the applicant will receive a letter stating they have 30 days to comply with a new set of fingerprints. If the applicant does not comply, their permit will be suspended until BCI receives a new set of fingerprints.

#### May 16, 2011

1. The Minimum Training Curriculum has been updated to reflect the new statutory changes.

#### May 5, 2011

1. The concealed firearm permit application has been updated and placed on BCI's website. Please discard all old applications and start using the new one. The new applications

reflect the fee changes and other statutory mandates. <u>Click the link to go to the new</u> application.

2. BCI's zip code will be changing effective June 1, 2011. The postal service has yet to inform BCI of the new zip code. Applications will again be updated at that time. After June 1, 2011, please ensure you're providing your students with the most current application to avoid problems with the postal service when mailing the applications into BCI.

# April 1, 2011

1. A newsletter has been created and posted on BCI's website. The newsletter explains the new laws set to take effect after May 10, 2011 pertaining to concealed firearm permits and instructors. A copy of the newsletter is also being mailed out to instructors. Click the link to read a copy of the newsletter.

# February 15, 2011

1. As of February 14, 2011, First Substitute Senate Bill 36, Concealed Firearm Act Amendments, had passed both houses of the Utah Legislature. The bill must still be signed by Governor Gary Herbert before it may become effective. If signed by the Governor, the bill will go into effect on May 10, 2011.

To find out more about what changes this bill makes to the Concealed Firearms Act, you may the read the full text of the bill at:

http://le.utah.gov/~2011/bills/sbillamd/sb0036s01.pdf

# February 7, 2011

1. Effective immediately, the prerequisite of the practical certification will only be required upon initial application for a concealed firearm permit instructor and will not be required to be maintained current thereafter, i.e. (NRA Certification, Utah P.O.S.T.) etc.

## January 3, 2011

- 1. BCI is open Monday through Thursday (7am-6pm), closed Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. No mail will be received on days the Bureau is closed. Please remind your students if they intend to overnight or mail an application certified mail, to mail the application packet accordingly.
- 2. On January 1, 2011 <u>lowa</u> was added as a state Utah has recognition status with. The minimum training curriculum was also updated to reflect the change.
- 3. Reminder: Some states will not honor the Utah concealed firearm permit or any other permit, if you're a resident of that state. Residents of that particular state must obtain a permit issued by that state, in order to legally carry a concealed firearm. BCI does not track

these states because weapons and firearms laws vary significantly from state to state and can change quickly as a result of government mandates and court decisions.

# December 6, 2010

- 1. The bureau has set up this new section in order to provide detailed, up to date information regarding changes to the program and updates in law and /or reminders. This format will better assist instructors and remove the need for sending out a newsletter. Anytime an update or change is made, the change will be posted here. Please review this section from time to time in order to ensure you are teaching the most up to date information and providing your students with the most current application, etc. This is especially important after each legislative session, since there is a possibility of changes to existing state statutes.
- 2. **Reminder:** U.C.A. 53-5-704 (9) A certified concealed firearm permit instructor <u>shall</u> provide each of the instructor's students with <u>the</u> required course of instruction outline approved by the bureau. Instructors are allowed to expound on or create their own addendum to the curriculum, but not detract from it.
- 3. The Minimum Training Curriculum has been updated. The revision date is **November 9**, **2010**. The changes include minor spelling and grammar corrections.
- 4. BCI will now accept US Passports as a form of verifying United States legal residency or citizenship. This only applies to applicants born outside the United States.
- 5. As of November 1, 2010, BCI adopted a set of administrative rules. Administrative rules assist with clarifying existing state statute. A copy of the administrative rules has been linked to the **Concealed Firearm Law and Rule Reference tab**. Please take time to review the new administrative rules.

Two notable portions contained within the administrative rules are the adoption of disqualification time frames and the definition of moral turpitude:

R722-300-4(5)(b) If the applicant does not meet the qualifications set forth in Subsection 535-704(2)(a) because the applicant has been convicted of a crime, the bureau may find that mitigating circumstances exist if the applicant was not convicted of a registerable sex offense, as defined in Subsection 77-27-21.5(1)(n), and the following time periods have elapsed from the date the applicant was convicted or released from incarceration, parole, or probation, whichever occurred last:

- (i) five years in the case of a class A misdemeanor;
- (ii) four years in the case of a class B misdemeanor; or
- (iii) three years in the case of any other misdemeanor or infraction.

R722-300-3(k) "offense involving moral turpitude" means a crime under the laws of this state, any other state, the United States, or any district, possession, or territory of the United States involving conduct which:

(i) is done knowingly contrary to justice, honesty, or good morals;

- (ii) has an element of falsification or fraud; or
- (iii) contains an element of harm or injury directed to another person or another's property
- 6. BCI taught instructor classes for 2011 have been posted on the website.

**Reminder:** Instructors, who are set to expire, should schedule a BCI renewal course several months in advance. Reason being, the increase of interest has classes filled months in advance. **No walk-ins will be accepted**.

- 7. Recently, representatives of the bureau have sat in on various Utah concealed firearm permit classes. The bureau would like to offer a few <u>recommendations</u> when teaching concealed firearm permit classes:
  - Keep your class size to a manageable size
  - Maintain a positive learning atmosphere
  - · Teach your classes in a knowledgeable, professional and ethical manner
  - Avoid undue distractions i.e. allowing students to arrive late, leave early, teaching unrelated topics, etc.
- 8. The notary section has been removed from instructor and concealed firearm permit applications. There is now a section where the applicant is <u>required</u> to sign and date the application where the notary section previously was.
- 9. **Reminder:** When teaching Utah concealed firearm permit classes, you must teach the Utah class in its entirety. This policy change occurred at the beginning of 2010. Before, instructors were allowed to teach multi-states permits, and then teach a block on Utah law and other Utah pertinent material. As long as all the topics were covered within the minimum training curriculum, the class was accepted. This changed for several reasons. One being numerous applicant/permit holders complained that they left the classes confused and/or felt the Utah portion of the class was neglected or very rushed. The process also diminished the Utah permit. Meaning an individual could take another state's permit, and if the applicant wanted a Utah concealed firearm permit, an additional hour or two would be added to the class. Please make sure when teaching Utah concealed firearm permit classes, you teach the Utah class from start to finish without intermixing other permits during the process.
- 10. Please make sure you are providing your students with the most current application. The most current application is available on BCI's website. There is a revision date at the bottom of the application to assist you in determining if you have the most current version. The current revision date is **December 2010**.