

State of Utah

Department of Public Safety

APPLICATION TO SWITCH FROM A PROVISIONAL CONCEALED FIRARM PERMIT TO REGULAR CONCEALED FIREARM PERMIT



INSTRUCTIONS

NEW APPLICANT

Note: Utah Code Ann. § 53-5a-102.2 does not require a person to obtain a permit to carry a concealed firearm. Check bci.utah.gov for questions and answers regarding carrying a concealed firearm in Utah without a Concealed Firearm Permit.

APPLICATIONS RECEIVED MORE THAN 90 DAYS BEFORE OR 1 YEAR AFTER APPLICANT'S 21ST BIRTHDAY WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.

Please answer all questions by typing or clearly printing in ink.

Applications may be submitted in person or by mail to:

Bureau of Criminal Identification 4315 S 2700 W Ste 1300 Taylorsville Utah 84129

Office Hours: M-F, 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m.

Applications must be accompanied by all required documentation (see below). Every application must be signed by the applicant prior to submission.

If applying by mail, please send application and all required documentation in a 9 x 12 envelope.

COST TO APPLY

The following **non-refundable** fee must be included with your application:

Utah Residents: \$10.00 Non-Residents: \$10.00

PAYMENT OPTIONS

The Bureau accepts cash, check, money order, VISA, MASTERCARD, AMERICAN EXPRESS and DISCOVER. Credit card payment must include the 3 or 4 digit control number on the back of the card.

Name must be imprinted on checks (no "counter checks" please). Please make check or money order payable to: **BCI.** There will be a \$20 service charge for returned checks. **PLEASE DO NOT SEND CASH IN THE MAIL.**

CONCEALED FIREARM COURSE CONCERNS

BCI would like to be notified of any concerns with Utah concealed firearm permit instructors or course materials. BCI can be contacted by email at dpsfirearms@utah.gov.

WHAT MUST ACCOMPANY THE APP

☐ PHOTOCOPY OF YOUR DRIVER LICENSE OR STATE ISSUED IDENTIFICATION CARD

☐ PHOTOCOPY OF YOUR PROVISIONAL CONCEALED FIREARM PERMIT

☐ PHOTOGRAPH:

One recent <u>color</u> photograph of **passport quality (2x2, no hats or sunglasses). NAME MUST BE ON BACK OF PHOTO**

☐ Application must include permanent physical residence and mailing address (if applicable).

□ NON-RESIDENT PROOF OF PERMIT

If you reside in a state that recognizes the validity of the Utah CFP or has reciprocity with Utah, you must obtain a CFP or CCW from your home state and submit a copy with the expiration date visible. For a list of reciprocal states visit: **BCI.UTAH.GOV** You are considered a resident of whichever state issued your ID. If your state does not recognize the Utah permit this does not apply

☐ APPLICANTS BORN OUTSIDE OF U.S.:

If you were born outside of the U.S. you must include ONE of the following:

copy of U.S. issued born abroad certificate

copy of valid US passport

copy of naturalization certificate

copy of permanent resident card.

With passage of HB0225S01 non-immigrant aliens are disqualified from obtaining a Utah concealed firearm permit.

☐ APPLICATION PROCESSING

Upon receipt of your completed application packet, we will process your payment. Applications will be reviewed in the order they were received. Upon completion of the background investigation, if the application meets criteria established by law, the permit will be mailed to you. Please do not call to check the status of your permit; the review process may take up to 60 days.

WARNING

Falsification of any information in the application may result in denial or revocation of a permit and possible criminal prosecution.

VISIT OUR WEBSITE AT:

BCI.UTAH.GOV

Any questions please contact BCI at 801-965-4445 or dpsfirearms@utah.gov.



State of Utah Department of Public Safety

APPLICATION TO SWITCH FROM A PROVISIONAL CONCEALED FIRARM PERMIT TO REGULAR CONCEALED FIREARM PERMIT

Please read all instructions prior to completing this form. TYPE OR PRINT IN INK.

Your application will **not** be processed unless this form is completely filled out and all applicable questions answered. Be sure to provide all supporting documents: one copy of provisional permit, one photo (with name on back), photocopy of resident state's permit with expiration date visible (if resident state honors the Utah CFP) and photocopy of drivers' license.

Bureau Use Only

Enclose the appropriate fee, \$10.00 for Utah residents or \$10.00 for non-residents in the form of credit card, money order or check made payable to "BCI". Name must be imprinted on check. Cannot accept foreign credit cards.

Note: Utah Code Ann. § 53-5a-102.2 does not require a person to obtain a permit to carry a concealed firearm. Check bci.utah.gov for questions and answers regarding carrying a concealed firearm in Utah without a Concealed Firearm Permit.

questions and answers regarding carrying a concealed firearm in Utan without a Concealed Firearm Permit. FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE								
APPLICA	ATIONS REC	EIVED MORE	THAN 90 DAYS BEFORE			THDAY WILL NOT B	BE ACCEPTED.	
Name			(Mid	Date of Birth	State	/Country of Birth		
(Last) (Please print ful) I name as it a	(First) appears on you	Mio) Ir driver license or state iss	ddle) sued ID card)	(If	born outside of US pr	rovide documentation)	
Previously used	Name(S)(Ma	aiden, etc.)			Social Security N	umber		
Physical Addres	ss	(0: .)		(2):	(0)	(9)	(71)	
Mailing Address	(if different	(Street) from street ad	dress)	(City)	(County)	(State)	(Zip)	
Daytime Phone	#		Alt Phone #		Oriver Lic #		St	
E-Mail Address								
Height	We	eight	Eye Color	Hair Color _	Sex	Race		
What is your Cit	tizenship?		If not a US citize	n, include USCIS# (perm	anent resident numbe	er)		
ALL APPLICANTS: Please answer "Yes" or "No" to all questions below. A complete criminal background check will be conducted including expunged and juvenile court records. If you answer "Yes" to any question, attach documentation explaining your answer.								
☐ Yes	 No Have you ever been adjudicated as a juvenile or convicted as an adult of a felony? No Have you ever been convicted of a crime of violence? No Have you ever been convicted of an offense involving the use of alcohol? No Have you ever been convicted of the unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances? No Have you ever been convicted of any offense involving moral turpitude? i.e., theft, criminal mischief, sex crimes, etc No Have you ever been convicted of offense involving domestic violence? No Have you ever been adjudicated as mentally incompetent? No Are you currently subject to a court sanctioned protective order? No Have you ever been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces? 							
ALL APPLICANTS: Please read and sign the statement below:								
I understand that it is a class B misdemeanor to knowingly and willfully provide false information on a concealed firearm permit application and may result in the denial of a permit pursuant to Utah Code Ann. § 53-5a-303(4)(b). I hereby declare under criminal penalty of the State of Utah that the information contained on this application is true and correct.								
Signed on: _	(Dat	e)	(An	plicant Signature)		_		
METHOD OF PAYMENT (Only to be filled out if application is mailed in. Check appropriate box for payment)								
Check, Money Order or Cashier's Check (Payable to "BCI") There will be a \$20.00 service charge for any returned check.								
☐ Credit Card must be ☐ Visa ☐ Master Card ☐ Discover ☐ AMEX								
Cardholder signature: Zip Code Associated with Credit Card:								
Fill out the information below to pay by credit card. Fees are non-refundable *3 or 4 digit control # Exp Date MM/YY								