
 

 
 

State of Utah 

Department of Public Safety 
 

RENEWAL APPLICATION FOR PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR LICENSE 

 

WHEN FILLING OUT THIS APPLICATION TYPE OR PRINT IN INK. 
Your application will not be processed unless this form is completely filled out and all applicable questions have been  
answered.  Enclose the appropriate fee in the form of cash, check, money order, or credit card made payable to  

 
 

Bureau Use Only 

“Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification”.  Cash will be accepted if your application is submitted in person. 

FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.  DO NOT SEND CASH IN MAIL. 

***IF YOU ARE AN AGENCY ENCLOSE ONLY $115 TO RENEW YOUR LICENSE*** 

____Agency license - $115  _____Registrant License or Apprentice License - $65 
 

An agency license must include proof of liability insurance for at least $500,000, which complies with the requirements in the Utah Code Ann. § 53-9-109(2) and 

(3).  Also include a certificate of valid workers’ compensation insurance, if applicable. 
A registrant or apprentice license must include a copy of a $10,000 surety bond, which complies with the requirements in Utah Code Ann. § 53-9-110(2) and (3).   
Provide a photocopy of your driver’s license or state identification card along with one recent color photograph of passport quality, with your name written on 

the back.  
In accordance with section 53-9-111 of the Utah Code, late fees will be assessed if an application is not received on time.  Please submit your renewal application within 60 

days prior to the expiration of your license.  A renewal will not be granted if the application is received more than 180 days after the expiration of your license.  There will 

be a late fee of $65 for agency license or $45 for registrant or apprentice if expired more than 30 days. 
 

Name____________________________________________________________     AGENCY # __________________    PI # _______________ 

    (Last)                                (First)          (Middle)                                                                

 

Previously used Name(S)_______________________________________SSN #_____________Date of Birth _____________Place of Birth _________ 

 

Physical Address________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

                      (Street)            (City)               (County)  (State)    (Zip) 

 

Mailing Address  (if different)____________________________________________________________________________________ __ 

 

Home Phone# _________________________Email ___________________________Driver Lic # ________________________St. _____  

 

Height _______________Weight _______________Eye Color _______________Hair Color _______________Sex _________Race _________ 

 
Please answer “Yes” or “No” to all the questions below.  A complete criminal background check will be conducted.  If you answer “Yes” to any 

question, attach documentation explaining your answer. 

___Yes   ___No Have you ever been convicted of a felony? 

___Yes   ___No Have you ever been convicted of any act involving illegally using, carrying or possessing a dangerous weapon? 

___Yes   ___No Have you ever been convicted of any act of personal violence? 

___Yes   ___No Have you ever been convicted of any act constituting dishonesty or fraud? 

___Yes   ___No Have you ever been convicted of any offense involving moral turpitude? (i.e. theft, shoplifting., sex crimes, etc.) 

___Yes   ___No Are you currently on probation, parole, or named in an arrest warrant? 

___Yes   ___No If you are licensed as a private investigator in another state or jurisdiction, were you ever charged with a civil or criminal violation that       

resulted in disciplinary action against your license? 

Please read and sign the statement below. 
 

I understand that it is a class A misdemeanor to engage in fraud or willfully misrepresent information in this application.  I also understand that my application may be 

denied if I knowingly make a material misstatement in connection with this application pursuant to Utah Code Ann. § 53-9-113(1)(d).  I hereby declare under criminal 
penalty of the State of Utah that the information contained on this application is true and correct.   

 

Executed on: _____________________ at ___________ 

                                       (Date)                   (Time) 

 

         ____________________________________ 
                                      (Signature) 
METHOD OF PAYMENT  (CHECK APPROPRIATE BOX)        Payment enclosed (check or money order only) ☐                 Credit Card ☐   
Credit Card payment must include 3 or 4 digit control number on back of the credit card.  There is a $20.00 service charge for any returned 
check. 
 

Credit Card Signature_____________________________________Zip Code Associated with Credit Card ___________________ 

Credit Card Orders:      *Visa ☐             *MasterCard ☐                *AMEX ☐                *Discover ☐ 

           Card Number – 15 digit AMEX or 16 digit Visa, MasterCard or Discover         3 or 4 digit control #       Expiration Date 

                           

 
Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification 4315 S 2700 W Ste 1300 Taylorsville Utah 84129 
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