Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification
4315 South 2700 West Suite 1300 Taylorsville, UT 84129 (801) 965-4445 BCI’s office hours are 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday. BCI is closed weekends and state holidays.
Bail Bond Recovery Licensure Board Opening
The Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) is accepting applications for one position on the Bail Bond Recovery Licensure Board. The position will be appointed by the Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety to serve for a term of four years. The requirements for eligibility are found in UCA § 53-11- 104.
The position requires the applicant be a citizen of the United States and a resident of Utah. Applicants must also meet one of the following criteria:
- One member shall be an owner of a bail bond surety company
The board meets every three months. The powers and duties of the board are found in UCA § 53-11-105 and include:
- Review all bail bond applications for licensing and renewals of licenses submitted by BCI and approve or disapprove these applications
- Review all complaints and take disciplinary actions
- Establish standards for and approve providers of courses required for bail bond licensure
Applicants will be required to submit a resume. If you are interested in serving on this board, please CLICK HERE and provide the requested information. Please email Mindy at email@example.com with any questions.
Applications will be accepted until February 13th, 2023.
Important Expungement Fee Information
If your application is processed BEFORE May 4, 2022 and you qualify for an expungement, you will be required to pay additional fees for information you will need to provide the court(s) to continue the process. And, you have 90 days to provide the information to the appropriate court(s).
Because of a change in the law, if your application is processed AFTER May 4, 2022 through June 30, 2023, and you qualify for an expungement, you will not have to pay the additional fees for information you will need to provide the court(s) to continue the process. And, you will have 180 days to provide the information to the appropriate court(s).
Temporary Voluntary Firearms Restriction List
With the passage of HB267 (UCA 53-5c-301), a person who is not a firearms-restricted person may request to be added to a Temporary Voluntary Firearms Restriction List. The forms and instructions to be added or removed from this list can be found here.
Permit-less Carry in Utah – House Bill 60
Q: Can I continue to renew my Utah Concealed Firearm Permit after HB60 went into effect on May 5th, 2021?
A: Yes, you can continue to obtain or renew your permit.
Q: After HB60 went into effect on May 5th, am I able to obtain a new Utah CFP?
A: Yes, you can still go through the process to obtain a permit after May 5th. Utah has reciprocal agreements with 36 other states that recognize Utah’s permit in their state. If you choose not to get a permit in Utah and you travel to a state that requires a permit to carry open or concealed, then you are subject to the laws of that state.
Q: Can I be reimbursed for the fees to obtain or renew my Utah CFP?
A: All fees previously incurred to obtain or renew a CFP are non-refundable.
Q: Can I still use my Utah CFP to waive the background check fee when purchasing a firearm?
A: Yes, the ATF still recognizes Utah’s CFP as an “alternate permit”, which allows federally licensed firearm dealers to verify your permit in lieu of the $7.50 background check.
Q: Does the permit-less carry allow me to carry my firearm into a public school?
A: No. You still need to obtain a Utah concealed firearm permit to carry in a public school. Private schools can make their own determinations on allowing weapons on campus.
Q: Are items such as firearm safety and handling, as well as suicide prevention, included in the Utah concealed firearm permit course?
A: Yes. The minimum Utah concealed firearm permit curriculum includes all of those items in at least some detail.
Q: Is live-fire (shooting live rounds) part of the Utah concealed firearm permit certification?
A: No. Utah law currently does not require live-fire for permit certification.
Don’t Fall for Scams
BCI has become aware of people receiving text messages and emails telling them to renew their Concealed Firearm Permit by clicking on a link provided in the text message or email. BCI will never solicit information via text message. If you receive one of these messages, DO NOT click on any link provided.
The only way to renew your permit online is through bci.utah.gov (this page).
ATTENTION: For your protection, masks are recommended when being fingerprinted at BCI.
Fingerprinting Services (Non-criminal fingerprints only. BCI cannot provide criminal or court-ordered fingerprinting services. Applications for Utah Criminal History and Expungements do not require appointment)
Fingerprinting services are by appointment only. To schedule an appointment, please click here.
A face covering or mask is recommended for anyone being fingerprinted. You will be required to wash your hands before being fingerprinted. Please do not schedule an appointment if you have had any of the following symptoms within the past 24 hours:
- Fever or Feeling Feverish (chills, sweating, etc.)
- Shortness of Breath
- Sore Throat
- Loss of Taste or Smell
Only the person being fingerprinted is allowed in the fingerprint room. Exceptions will be made for interpreters or individuals requiring physical assistance.
Utah AMBER Alert
View photos and information about Utah’s Missing Persons
Concealed Firearm Permit Renewal
Please use caution and do not renew your Utah CFP through any site other than the official Utah DPS site. We have received notification that there are other websites that indicate that you can renew your Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP). These are not connected in any way to the Utah renewal website. Please be aware that the only website to renew your Utah CFP is: https://secure.utah.gov/concealed-firearms.
New Online Services
Register to Receive Protective Order (PO) Service Notification
Register to receive notification when a PO has been served. This service is for petitioners and other interested parties. Requires specific PO information.
Potential Fraud Alert
The Utah Department of Public Safety has become aware of scammers calling from what appears to be a State government number and identifying themselves as BCI Officers. The “officer” then advises the call recipient they have warrants for their arrest and offers to allow them to pay the warrant. THIS IS A SCAM! The Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification does not advise people of warrants by phone and will never request payment of warrant fines.
If you are contacted as a part of this scam you may report it to the Federal Trade Commission at www.ftc.gov and/or to the FBI at www.ic3.gov. If you’ve been a victim of this scam it should be reported to your local law enforcement agency.