Concealed Firearm Permits
Effective August 1, 2017 a $20 fingerprint-based background check processing fee will be charged when applying for a Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP). This change is due to the passage of House Bill 124 during the 2015 Utah State Legislative session in which all applicants requiring a background check are subject to the fee.
A breakdown of the fees are listed below:
Applications dated prior to August 1, 2017 will be accepted until September 1, 2017 without incurring the $20.00 fee.
Effective immediately, the most current application reflecting the change in fees is available for instructors and students to download by clicking here. Instructors are reminded to always use the latest application to ensure their students’ applications are accepted and processed by BCI.
A CONCEALED FIREARM PERMIT CANNOT BE RENEWED MORE THAN 90 DAYS BEFORE IT EXPIRES.
CONCEALED FIREARM COURSE CONCERNS/SURVEY
In lieu of the Concealed Firearm Course Survey, BCI would like to be notified of any concerns with Utah concealed firearm permit instructors or course materials by contacting BCI by email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Our goal in the end is to certify individuals who have a sound knowledge of applicable laws, rules and regulations and who also possess confidence and sound understanding in safety and practical application of the types of firearms to be concealed.
Please use caution and do not renew your Utah CFP through any site other than the official Utah DPS site. We have received notification that there are other websites that indicate that they can renew your Utah Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP). These are not connected in any way to the Utah renewal website. Please be aware that the only website to renew your Utah CFP is: https://secure.utah.gov/concealed-firearms.
Concealed Firearms permits in the State of Utah are regulated by the Bureau of Criminal Identification. A permit to carry a concealed firearm in the State of Utah may be obtained by completing the instructions, and meeting the requirements.
If you have any questions for the BCI Firearms Division, you may contact us by phone (801) 965-4445 or email to email@example.com.